Peppermint Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
So sad! I made this cake and brought it to Christmas dinner. Luckily we had so many other desserts for back up! This cake was surprisingly dry and crumbly. Only two people sampled it and then the word got out so no one else ate it and I had to throw most of it away! I have made chiffon cakes before and they did not disappoint so I thought this would be good. I blame myself for once again not reading reviews before making something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Good recipe, but dry and a little tough. The toughness was probably baker error due to over-beating, so I'm going to give this another try. The flavor is mild, I made a peppermint butter cream, which complimented it nicely. Very pretty cake, I just wish the texture was a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a lovely cake. I only used 1 tsp of peppermint because I was almost out and I wanted to frost with peppermint icing too. The frosting is really what made this cake excellent, thus 4 stars instead of 5. I used Mint Buttercream Frosting with Dark Chocolate Glaze from this site. That made it to die for! Without frosting it's a bit dry. But still very pleasant flavor and spongy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
While I haven't made this particular Chiffon cake, the recipe is exactly the same as mine for Maple Chiffon - Just sub mapline for the peppermint. This is a cake I have made for 30 years and it NEVER comes out dry! Perhaps the egg whites were over-beat and too stiff? Great Alteration to a classic! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
this more like a sponge cake, it has great flavor, and I made a peppermint icing to go on it, next time I'll reduce the eggs and add vetable oil or butter to give more of a cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
DRY, DRY DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good, made for x-mas eve birthday cake, left out food coloring, bake a little longer than barely brown, top with glaze of peppermint, milk, butter, sugar, and crushed candy canes and melted drizzled chocolate, easy and tasty and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
i enjoyed the taste of the cake immensely. it was very fluffy, but i have to agree that it was a bit dry. I used the "vanilla glaze" from this site, adding in a tsp or so of peppermint extract to the glaze, and then topping off with crushed candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I've never NEVER rated a recipe so low, but I really had great expectations for this one and it sorely disappointed. It was a heck of a lot of work for the end result. I made a glaze with powdered sugar, peppermint extract, and butter. That didn't even help. The cake, while pretty, was cardboard dry and really had so little peppermint flavor that I'm mad that I wasted my hard-to-find extract on it. Hardly anyone ate more than 2 bites. Bummer... it sounded so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very dense and thick. Not the usual light and airy chiffon. The peppermint flavor was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States