Peppermint Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Mmm!! This cake is really good. I didn't have any cake flour so for each one cup of flour needed, I used one cup of regular flour, minus 2 tbsp. and then added 2 tbsp. of cornstarch. It worked fine! Also, I decided to use mint flavored frosting. I'm adding that recipe to Allrecipes... "Chlyha427's Mint Frosting." Check it out! It really made the cake great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Pretty good. I didn't have a tube or bundt pan (packed away for moving) so I had to use a springform pan. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Seemed a little dry. I wasn't sure what type of frosting to use, so I used the "Mint Buttercream Frosting with Dark Chocolate Glaze" (off this website). The combination seemed a little sweet for me but everyone else seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. Everyone wanted the recipe. Looks more complicated than it really is. Very easy to make. I frosted it with cool whip and put some holiday sprinkles on top. Rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Didn't care for the dry texture or the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
The peppermint was delicious. It had a very smooth after-taste. The cake was not overwhelming. It would make a light after dinner dessert. I did not have cake flour so I substituted all-purpose flour and just used less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelic1ang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very dense and thick. Not the usual light and airy chiffon. The peppermint flavor was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I've never NEVER rated a recipe so low, but I really had great expectations for this one and it sorely disappointed. It was a heck of a lot of work for the end result. I made a glaze with powdered sugar, peppermint extract, and butter. That didn't even help. The cake, while pretty, was cardboard dry and really had so little peppermint flavor that I'm mad that I wasted my hard-to-find extract on it. Hardly anyone ate more than 2 bites. Bummer... it sounded so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
i enjoyed the taste of the cake immensely. it was very fluffy, but i have to agree that it was a bit dry. I used the "vanilla glaze" from this site, adding in a tsp or so of peppermint extract to the glaze, and then topping off with crushed candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good, made for x-mas eve birthday cake, left out food coloring, bake a little longer than barely brown, top with glaze of peppermint, milk, butter, sugar, and crushed candy canes and melted drizzled chocolate, easy and tasty and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
DRY, DRY DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States