Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
LOVE this stuff! Everyone has went crazy for it. I melted the chocolate in the microwave, which was easy. Next I added 1 tsp. peppermint extract to the chocolate to give it a bit more mint taste. I did incorporate the mint "dust" from the candy canes into the chocolate and then push the bigger bits into the top. I also added a few drops of red and green food coloring here and there and swirled them with a toothpick. Hubby said they looked like something out of a candy store and even though he isn't big on mint, he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Simple yet Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I was very pleased with how this came out. I followed the recipe exactly except to add 1/8 tsp peppermint extract to the melted white chocolate. A wonderful holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Midnite Myst
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I can't keep enough of this treat at the holiday time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnite Myst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Had a hard time melting the chocolate. Burnt the 1st batch. The 2nd batch turned out ok. Sprinkled bits of candy cane on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Delicious! Tastes more complicated than the ingredients indicate. My teenage daughter made these by herself -- no problem. She did add the extra layer of dark chocolate as suggested by an earlier post -- Perfect! Ate them in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Added semi-sweet chocolate at the bottom as others suggested. Melting the white chocolate was the hardest part - since it burned very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I mistakenly made my first batch with only 1 pound of chocolate, but we ended up liking that better. The batch with 2 pounds of chocolate didn't have enough peppermint taste for us. I will definitely make this again using half the chocolate. It's super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very easy and pretty for the holidays. I sifted the powder fron the chunks and the small chunks from the large chunks. I mixed the small chunks in the white chocolate and topped with the large. I also took the suggestion of doing a dark chocolate layer under the white. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is a hit! I modify by using equal amounts of mint dark chocolate and white chocolate, using the melting wafers avail at the candy store. The mint dark chocolate wafers add a little extra flavor w/out needing to use any extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States