Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a great christmas treat, you can also use lemon drops, yum :) To break up the candy canes I put it in a plastic bag and use a hammer, it works a lot better for me than the rolling pin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Super yummy and soo simple! Great addition to our traditional fudges and Christmas candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is so easy to make. Everyone loves it and has become a tradition on my Christmas baking list. It looks so pretty on the holiday candy tray. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by baking wifey
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So easy. I used both dark and whilte candy coating. To get a layered look I layered the chocolate in a silicone muffin tin let it harden. I then put the crushed candy canes in the white candy coating then layered that on top of the chocolate. Sprinkle a little crushed candy cane on top and it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was good... not great. I'm not a big fan of white chocolate, but this was still pretty good. I think there should be more peppermint though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I have made this for years. I use wintergreen peppermints, but any type will work. I also use half almond bark and half white chocolate, this helps make the "brittle" brittle, it will break in large nice peices without all the tiny breaks, it will also hold up to heat better, it will not melt as soon as you touch it. You can add food coloring, layer other flavors for chocolate and even add sprinkles if your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TXUKGal
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I had so much fun with this recipe. I did a couple of different varieties and everyone loved them! I think this would be really festive if the white chocolate had red and/or green food colouring added. The candy canes that I find in the UK aren't as strong tasting as the ones I could get in the US. I think I would add a tiny bit of peppermint flavouring just to pump up the flavour some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I've made this for years now. You can switch out your type of chocolate and type of hard candy for other flavor combos. The best tip you'll ever get about this kind of candy is: NEVER let water near your chocolate :) Even 1 drop--even 1 drop of food coloring--can and will ruin your chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Pretty good! After crunching up the candy canes, there's a fine powder left in the bag. I dumped that into the melted almond bark. It added a nice minty undertone to the whole piece of candy. I love how festive it looks, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJMunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I wasn't crazy about it but everyone else was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States