Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by JSEIRAFI
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
As easy as it gets. I split the recipe and made half all white chocolate and the second half with a dark chocolate layer on the bottom. This makes perfect Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSEIRAFI
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very yummy. Used 1/2 white and 1/2 milk chocolate to fancy it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie D'oh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I thought melting the chocolate in the microwave would work out like it did for some people especially since I followed the recipe, but the chocolate burned in the microwave. I even did it in smaller intervals knowing that chocolate burns easily when melting. I only noticed it burnt when I started mixing it. I didn't even have it in the microwave for 6 minutes. Next time I will use a double-boiler. I was pretty bummed because I was really looking forward to this and I didn't have time to run out to buy more chocolate especially since it was late at night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I used half white chic. and half semi-sweet choc. and 4 regular sized candy canes. Like the other reviewers I melted the dark choc. first, spread it in the pan and then I melthed the white choc., mixed it with the the candy canes and spread over the dark choc. One thing to note if you do this, the dark choc. takes longer to harden than the white choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a great christmas treat, you can also use lemon drops, yum :) To break up the candy canes I put it in a plastic bag and use a hammer, it works a lot better for me than the rolling pin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Super yummy and soo simple! Great addition to our traditional fudges and Christmas candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is so easy to make. Everyone loves it and has become a tradition on my Christmas baking list. It looks so pretty on the holiday candy tray. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by baking wifey
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So easy. I used both dark and whilte candy coating. To get a layered look I layered the chocolate in a silicone muffin tin let it harden. I then put the crushed candy canes in the white candy coating then layered that on top of the chocolate. Sprinkle a little crushed candy cane on top and it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was good... not great. I'm not a big fan of white chocolate, but this was still pretty good. I think there should be more peppermint though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I have made this for years. I use wintergreen peppermints, but any type will work. I also use half almond bark and half white chocolate, this helps make the "brittle" brittle, it will break in large nice peices without all the tiny breaks, it will also hold up to heat better, it will not melt as soon as you touch it. You can add food coloring, layer other flavors for chocolate and even add sprinkles if your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States