Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I make with a bottom layer of semi-sweet chocolate. Big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are so easy, relatively expensive, and make perfect gifts for friends and acquaintances. I gave some to my supervisors at work, and they absolutely loved them! I prefer using red/white peppermint candy cane rather than the green/red/white ones. Oddly enough, I could only find them at Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I did the double layer thing with dark chocolate on the bottom (1 lb of each). Sifted the small peppermint bits into the white chocolate and then the bigger chunks on top. I would've liked to have had more peppermint flavor tho, so I may add peppermint extract to the white chocolate next time. The only other thing was the two layers did want to seperate some. But most stayed together. I think the key is not letting the bottom layer set up all the way. This may cause a little swirling of the two, but doesn't affect the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Delicious! After reading reviews, I also melted the white chocolate on the stove in a double boiler. I didn't want to chance burning it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
As a beginner w/ cooking, I thought this would be great to try for Christmas. Mine turned out a bit thick but, still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Wow! I made this with a dark chocolate bottom and it is delicious! I put together cookie tins with five different treats, and I'm expecting this will get the best reviews. Can't wait - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JSEIRAFI
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
As easy as it gets. I split the recipe and made half all white chocolate and the second half with a dark chocolate layer on the bottom. This makes perfect Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSEIRAFI
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very yummy. Used 1/2 white and 1/2 milk chocolate to fancy it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie D'oh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I thought melting the chocolate in the microwave would work out like it did for some people especially since I followed the recipe, but the chocolate burned in the microwave. I even did it in smaller intervals knowing that chocolate burns easily when melting. I only noticed it burnt when I started mixing it. I didn't even have it in the microwave for 6 minutes. Next time I will use a double-boiler. I was pretty bummed because I was really looking forward to this and I didn't have time to run out to buy more chocolate especially since it was late at night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I used half white chic. and half semi-sweet choc. and 4 regular sized candy canes. Like the other reviewers I melted the dark choc. first, spread it in the pan and then I melthed the white choc., mixed it with the the candy canes and spread over the dark choc. One thing to note if you do this, the dark choc. takes longer to harden than the white choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States