Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because I used this recipe as a base... I did a layer of dark chocolate. When I pounded my candy canes, some of the candy cane became a fine powder. So I sifted that out from the chunks and sprinkled it on the dark choco layer. Then I put it in the freezer while I melted the white choco. Once that melted I added 1/8 tsp of peppermint extrace then poured the white choco over the dark choco and then sprinkled the candy cane chunks. I froze it again for a couple hours. I melted the choco in my double boiler. SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used white almond bark. I spread it really thin and had enough for one jelly roll pan and one cookie sheet. Awesome!!! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Good for christmas gifts. I used 1/2 white chocolate and 1/2 semi-sweet...one recipes makes about 12 small "gifts".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great recipe! I made it using white chocolate chips. Almost all the brands of white chips you find aren't actually white chocolate, which is why the labels say things like "white morsels". The real ones are hard to find. I also did as others suggested and only mixed in the smallest crushed candy cane pieces and pressed the rest into the top. The only problem with that was I ended up with a lot of pieces that weren't pressed in well enough and fell off. I think next time I'll either mix them all in or put a piece of wax paper on top so I can press the candy cane pieces in well without getting chocolate all over my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
this turned out absolutely amazing when i made it...my husband actually liked it and he is not a big person who likes sweets....awesome recipe especially for the holidays! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
absolutely wonderful! My family loves this. It's so easy to make. I can't wait to make it again this year. I was thinking of swirling in a little bit of green & red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Did half dark choc. and half white choc but the dark choc was too overpowering. Next time will do 1/4 dark and 3/4 white. Crush candy canes with the plastic wrapper on so it stays in one place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I made this for a work function and everyone absolutely loved it... People thought I had bought it! I altered the recipe just slightly - this recipe is definitely one you can play by ear. I put a thin layer of semi-sweet chocolate down first and let it harden before spreading the white chocolate/peppermint mixture. I did seive the crushed peppermints so only the finest grains were in the white chocolate layer, then pressed larger pieces into the top. It's delicious, pretty and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
After seeing how much this candy cost in the store, i thought, I can make that myself. I make it just like this recipe. It is very pretty given as gifts and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Yummy and not difficult to make. They make a nice addition to a holiday cookie platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States