Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I just made my first experimental batch. I like it and I will do it again for my cookie exchange (I am a terrible baker and this is pretty easy--perfect!)but I don't like the feeling of biting into hard candy and my pieces were much too big at 1/3 inch or smaller. Next time I will either use soft peppermints, peppermint extract or grind up the pieces in my food processor. UPDATE: second time around I used my food processor to grind up candy canes and added the very fine pieces to the melted chocolate. This gave it a nice texture without big chunks of hard candy. I also added a little extract to the melted chocolate for a more consistent peppermint flavor. Lastly, I pressed in some Andes peppermint pieces to the top. It was the first time I used them and they are soft a soft candy in the baking aisle. They are attractive on the top. Don't make the same mistake I did the first time and try to melt them unless you want pink bark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Fantastic and oh so easy. I used the Hersey's milk chocolate bars on the bottom with chunks of the peppermint and also - as others suggested - strained the peppermint in a colander (sp) and mixed the powder in with the white chocolate and used the larger bits to top it. It is beautiful and very tasty. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yum. I made this with 2 kinds of choclates as previously suggested. I always burn cookies but needed some holiday goodies. Easy peasy and yummy in tummy. K enough rhyming. Time to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
So easy and so pretty. This will definitely be added to my holiday recipe list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I am only giving four stars because I made changes. Added finer ground peppermints to the white chocolate. Made a bottom layer of dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because I used this recipe as a base... I did a layer of dark chocolate. When I pounded my candy canes, some of the candy cane became a fine powder. So I sifted that out from the chunks and sprinkled it on the dark choco layer. Then I put it in the freezer while I melted the white choco. Once that melted I added 1/8 tsp of peppermint extrace then poured the white choco over the dark choco and then sprinkled the candy cane chunks. I froze it again for a couple hours. I melted the choco in my double boiler. SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used white almond bark. I spread it really thin and had enough for one jelly roll pan and one cookie sheet. Awesome!!! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Good for christmas gifts. I used 1/2 white chocolate and 1/2 semi-sweet...one recipes makes about 12 small "gifts".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great recipe! I made it using white chocolate chips. Almost all the brands of white chips you find aren't actually white chocolate, which is why the labels say things like "white morsels". The real ones are hard to find. I also did as others suggested and only mixed in the smallest crushed candy cane pieces and pressed the rest into the top. The only problem with that was I ended up with a lot of pieces that weren't pressed in well enough and fell off. I think next time I'll either mix them all in or put a piece of wax paper on top so I can press the candy cane pieces in well without getting chocolate all over my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
this turned out absolutely amazing when i made it...my husband actually liked it and he is not a big person who likes sweets....awesome recipe especially for the holidays! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States