Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Delicious! Tastes more complicated than the ingredients indicate. My teenage daughter made these by herself -- no problem. She did add the extra layer of dark chocolate as suggested by an earlier post -- Perfect! Ate them in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Added semi-sweet chocolate at the bottom as others suggested. Melting the white chocolate was the hardest part - since it burned very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I mistakenly made my first batch with only 1 pound of chocolate, but we ended up liking that better. The batch with 2 pounds of chocolate didn't have enough peppermint taste for us. I will definitely make this again using half the chocolate. It's super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very easy and pretty for the holidays. I sifted the powder fron the chunks and the small chunks from the large chunks. I mixed the small chunks in the white chocolate and topped with the large. I also took the suggestion of doing a dark chocolate layer under the white. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is a hit! I modify by using equal amounts of mint dark chocolate and white chocolate, using the melting wafers avail at the candy store. The mint dark chocolate wafers add a little extra flavor w/out needing to use any extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Simple and Delicious! I always recieve rave reviews when I make this for my christmas cookie tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was so easy and good! I made a thin layer of semi-sweet chocolate on the bottom as suggested and used white almond bark. Gave it away as gifts, and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
looks pretty and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
i did as other reviewers suggested and made a layer of semisweet chocolate at the bottom first. this candy is SUPERB! and sooo easy. i will be making this every christmas! it's so pretty you can give it as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I had some problems with this... actually, quite the disaster with melting the white chocolate. I went through 4 bags of it before I got it right. Yikes. So, for beginning bakers, be careful about overheating the white chocolate. Set your microwave at level 5 or 6 heat, and check on it every 10-15 seconds. When I got it right, I only nuked it for about a minute and 15 seconds (that was for one bag). It hardens really fast, so sprinkle the peppermint decorations as you're spreading it onto the sheet, or else they won't stick onto it. After 2 tries, I got it right and they turned out really cute. I just wish I knew more about melting white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States