Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I made this for teacher gifts. I cut a 15"x15" square of colored cellophane and put the candy in the middle, bunched it all together, and tied curling ribbon around it. It was a BIG hit! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINIVANMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This was sooooo easy. I was going to make chocolate dipped cand canes until I discovered they were all cracked. I made mine a bit thicker by using a smaller cookie sheet and then sprinkling them with multi-colored sprinkles before they cooled. These are fantastic teacher gifts!!! Thanks again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Very easy and tasty. I used Ghirardelli white chocolate chips. They melted beautifuly and quickly in the microwave. I prefer the taste of individual red and white mint candies to candy canes. The individual candies seem to have greater flavor. This is also a terrific recipe to make with kids. They enjoy crunching up the hard candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
My mother loves Fannie May Peppermint Bark, but there is no store here anymore, so I tried this for her. We thought it tasted the same! It is very yummy and very easy. I added some red food coloring to make it pinkish like she was used to. We can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
So easy-lots of requests for this recipe-will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Rather than crush the candy, I use a blender to crush (pulverize) it. Be carefull when you "blend" the candy, put only a few in the blender at a time. Sometimes the candy can stick together (especially if you use the round peppermint candies instead of canes; 1 bag candy for 2 bags white morsels) and lock up the blender. Lean the blender on it's side (hold onto the lid) and stand it up to feed the candy into the blades. Also, peppermint candy dust is very sticky and gets everywhere so let the dust settle in the blender before you poor it into a bowl. Crush the candy before you melt the chocolate. The pulverized candy gives a more even/smooth peppermint flavor and melts in your mouth along with the white chocolate. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is delicious and very addicting. Extra pretty made with the green & red candies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This was very yummy and EASY, which is always appreciated around the hectic holidays. I did find that microwaving the chocolate didn't work well and I needed to finish melting it over a simmering pot of hot water to get the smooth consistency. Also, I think I crushed my candy canes too fine... next time I will do a little bigger chunks to my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
use the best white chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Super easy and delish! I would not recommend microwaving the chocolate though because you need to be constantly stirring it. I wasted my first batch because the chocolate completely hardened. I heated the chocolate directly over the stove stirring the ENTIRE time and it worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States