Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great recipe, especially after a minor change! I turned this recipe into 'Double Chocolate Peppermint Brittle' by first making a layer of dark chocolate on the foil. Once that was set up, I proceeded with this recipe, and spread it over the dark layer (an offset spatula works great here!). When you break it, it looks quite similar to a candy that is sold by a national kitchen chain...and it's so much cheaper to make it at home!Thanks for a treat that everyone loves! ** Update ** Made this again, and have another tip! Put the crushed peppermint into a strainer, and shake the finest particles into the white chocolate. Then, reserve the bigger chunks to place on top of the white chocolate, for more texture, and professional appearance. Wow! Beautiful...just beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I modified this recipe to make what we call Peppermint Bark in my family. I used about 1 pound of semi-sweet and 1 pound of white chocolate. I melted the semi-sweet choc and spread it on as the bottom layer, then put it in the freezer to harden while I melted the white choc and crushed the mints. I used 30 Starlight mints instead of candy canes. I crushed half of the mints into a fine powder that I mixed into the melted white chocolate before spreading it as the top layer. I crushed the other half of the mints more coarsely and sprinkled them over the top. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I love this recipe but I had to work with it a few times to make it pretty. I found it easier to melt the chocolate on the stove top in a small double boiler. I only melted one pound of chocolate at a time. I crushed 4 regular size candy canes and mixed them in the cocolate and then spread it on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. It works best if it is spread thin, not too thick. Then I had one candy cane crushed to a fine powder that I sprinkled on top while it was still warm, this made them shimmer and look so much more appealing. Then I chilled it in the fridge for about 30 minutes before breaking it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
so good, so easy. however, one suggestion, put wax paper or parchment paper down in the pan before pouring it in. it makes it SO much easier to break apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Great Recipe. Here's a suggestion. After crushing the peppermint candies, put them in a sieve. All of the peppermint "dust" gets stirred into the melted chocolate to flavor it. After it is poured into the pan, sprinkle the bigger pieces on top. It looks really pretty! I also like to drop a few spoons full of melted milk chocolate (or semi-sweet if you prefer)into the white chocolate after it is poured into the pan, them swirl it with a knife and and sprinkle pieces of peppermint on top. It looks like the Peppermint Bark that you buy in specialty shops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
So easy! I don't like white chocolate either, but love this candy! I add a drop or two of peppermint extract to the melted chocolate and it gives it a subtle boost of mint flavor. And I just sprinkle the candies on top (instead of stirring it into the chocolate) so the small crystals give it some sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Super easy and very yummy!!! Lots of compliments on this!! Better than Williams-Sonoma's!! I used white chocolate chips and melted those...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was surprisingly good! I would just suggest that you have thick plastic bags when braking the peppermints. If you don't, the bag will get holes and make a mess. The second time I made it I added red crystal sprinkles to the top before it dried just for looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
So easy-lots of requests for this recipe-will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I made this two toned with a layer of dark chocolate mixed with peppermint extract on the bottom. Great for little gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States