Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Easiest candy ever! I used a combo of white chocolate & almond bark. I took the advice of other reviewers & used the bigger pieces on top & mixed the "dust" into the melted white chocolate. I'd like to try it with a semi-sweet layer as others did. Makes a very nice gift any day of the year but especially at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This turned out wonderful. First of all don't microwave your chocolate. Melt the chocolate in a double broiler. It turns out better this way and easier to spread. I crushed my candycanes in a chopper. I used Bakers white chocolate and about 10 regular candy canes. I put in 1/8 peppermint extract into the chocolate mixture. I saved a little less than half of the crushed candy canes and topped it off on top of the spread chocolate. This candy reminds me of Hershey's Candy Cane kisses and is the closest I can come to my craving of them. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I...I think I love you, and the reviewer who recommended the extra layer of dark chocolate! I had to promise people I would start making this every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I took the advice of other users and used the small pieces in the chocolate. It turned out to be hit on all my candy trays I give for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very pretty, but not a whole lot of flavor. I tried to add some peppermint extract but the white chocolate turned to a weird texture, almost like a curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
great taste, and very easy - what could be better? i put a layer of milk chocolate on the bottom (on foil) and cooled it completely...then added the white chocolate. the two layers didnt stick together very well, so maybe dont cool the chocolate layer completely. i did as another reviewer suggested, and strained the peppermint pieces into the white chocolate, then added the chunkier pieces to the top. very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
A super easy to make candy that's festive and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Quick, easy , and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrarea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I took ideas from the other reviews and did a thin layer of milk chocolate bark with a thicker layer of the white chocolate on top. I picked out coarse candy cane pieces and saved them to sprinkle on top - turned out great, perhaps better than any other candy recipe we do each year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lea
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I made this by first melting dark chocolate and letting it firl up, then laying the white chocolate and candy canes over the top!YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States