Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Soooo easy and soooo yummy! I melted my chips in the microwave and then spread it on parchment paper on top of a cookie sheet (I don't know what a jelly roll looks like...lol). I bought the "soft" candy canes by accident, man those were hard to break apart! Next time I'll use regular canes. We enjoy this VERY much!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is SOOO good! I bought some of the expensive peppermint bark from a place last year. This tasted just as creamy and good if not better. It's easy to make too. I did use dark chocolate on a bottom layer then the white chocolate on top with the candy canes. Perfect! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Good recipe as is... but I followed the suggestions of others to make it great. I melted 2 bags of dark chocolate chips and spread into a cookie sheet lined with parchment. I let that cool. Then I melted about 1 pound of white chocolate, adding 1 tablespoon of peppermint extract. I separated the fine peppermint particles from the larger pieces after I crushed it by using a sifter. I stirred the fine pieces into the white chocolate. I poored this over the dark chocolate and sprinkled the top with the larger pieces, pressing them into the chocolate with an off-set spatula. After it was completely cooled, breaking it apart was a little tough as I think it was a bit thick but it looked really pretty and tasted great! It looks impressive, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I grew up having this candy every Christmas, and decided that I'd continue the tradition with my family. My husband loves white chocolate, so I knew he'd love it. I used 12 large candy canes for the amount of white chocolate in the recipe. It takes some work to get it all chopped up small, so I'd suggest crushing the peppermint before melting the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Had a real hard time with this.....used the Ghiradelli chips (3 bags), microwaved it for 3 minutes....took it out, stirred, microwaved for 1 minute and it came out hard as a rock. We had to go to the dbl.boiler method to get the chocolate to melt....very frustrating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Try dropping a piece into your coffee or hot chocolate and give it a stir!! Excellent, festive, and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very good recipe! I used 1 1/2 packages of white almond bark and used 12 big candy canes instead of the little ones. My only problem was I stirred the candy canes in too much and it turned pink in some spots. There's a lot of peppermint flavor so I don't think there's a need to add any peppermint extract. I think I will make these for Christmas gifts! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Recipe was very easy and tastes great. Made 7 batches of cookies today and this was by far the fastest batch of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Made this recipe for my family and neighbors and it was a huge hit. Very easy and very reasonable to make!! Great recipe thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherieamour

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Yum! I was craving those peppermint Kisses that I can't find ANYWHERE anymore, so this was my best shot at getting rid of those cravings. I used one 11oz bag of ghiradelli white chocolate chips, 16 finely crushed mini candy canes (I crushed them in a clean coffee grinder! Worked marvelously.), and 3 thickly chopped candy canes on top. This way, the crushed candy canes mixed in melt in your mouth with the chocolate, but there's still a crunch from the topping. Try it! Spread them a little thinner and make a little more than you would feel comfortable with ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States