Peppermint Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Ok so it's not exactly the recipe..I know BUT the idea was great. Which is why I gave it only 4. I omitted peppermint flavoring and used vanilla. In the dough I used the 2/3 cup of Andes White Chocolate peppermint crunch pieces. I did have to use my hand to spread in pan. When I took it out of the oven I used a bag of Andes Mint Chocolate pieces and spread it. So I got the nice shortbread bar with peppermint and chocolate. Festive and yummy. Thanks for the recipe idea Courtney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I tried these as one of my many baking experiments, and they were excellent! I actually made them gluten and dairy free by replacing the all purpose flour with a basic gluten free all purpose flour mixture, and the butter with refined coconut oil. They were a big hit and were not difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I can't skip these bars at Christmas anymore, my family expects them each year. They are chewy, buttery, and have just the right amount of peppermint for us. I usually have to extend the baking time by about 10 minutes and line the pan with nonstick aluminum foil for easy removal. We also store them between layers of wax paper in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I had no trouble with the dough being sticky and everything seemed to be going just fine. But when I went to cut them, they were oily on the bottom and the dough didn't seem to cook properly. Not even my kids would eat them. Was supposed to bring them to a cookie party, but ended up going empty handed. Will not recommend this to anyone (and told the other All Recipe people at the party to stay awayfrom this one!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
gone in a day! I didn't smooth out the chocolate chips though, and I used a whole bag. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I dont think they came out the way they were supposed to. They did look pretty and they didnt taste that bad either. But the consistency of the dough was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugr515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
For those of you having trouble with the dough, remember that this is a sugar cookie dough. Don't try to work it like a pastry dough or a brownie. I use this variation and it never fails. Use a 10x15 jelly roll pan. Drop small spoonfuls of dough evenly across the pan until only small open spaces are left between the spoonfuls. Press everything together gently but firmly and bake for about 12 minutes. I use 2 cups of chocolate chips (which does take longer to 'set'). For a greater taste contrast, use dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet. It is easier to 'pre-cut' the bars when the chocolate is almost, but not quite, hardened. Use the blade of a pastry cutter and press down, or use a heavy-duty pizza wheel. My bars always keep a nice 'chewy 'cookie' texture for a long time - even when I shipped them to a campus and they sat in the mailroom for 3 days before being picked up. I think that must be because they are only about as thick as a cookie. As far as I'm concerned, the worst part is peeling the plastic off of the candy canes! (Thus - only 4 stars instead of 5!) Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
also wanted to add the recipe is simpler if parchment paper is used cleanup is almost none and if silicone paper is used there is NO sticking TRY IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I followed the directions to the "T" and they turned out looking beautiful. Let it cool, cut a piece and it tasted HORRIBLE! The problem was, it had NO taste. You'd think with all the peppermint it wouldnt be lacking, but it was. I do not recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Florida, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States