Peppermint Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
For those of you having trouble with the dough, remember that this is a sugar cookie dough. Don't try to work it like a pastry dough or a brownie. I use this variation and it never fails. Use a 10x15 jelly roll pan. Drop small spoonfuls of dough evenly across the pan until only small open spaces are left between the spoonfuls. Press everything together gently but firmly and bake for about 12 minutes. I use 2 cups of chocolate chips (which does take longer to 'set'). For a greater taste contrast, use dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet. It is easier to 'pre-cut' the bars when the chocolate is almost, but not quite, hardened. Use the blade of a pastry cutter and press down, or use a heavy-duty pizza wheel. My bars always keep a nice 'chewy 'cookie' texture for a long time - even when I shipped them to a campus and they sat in the mailroom for 3 days before being picked up. I think that must be because they are only about as thick as a cookie. As far as I'm concerned, the worst part is peeling the plastic off of the candy canes! (Thus - only 4 stars instead of 5!) Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I did not like this recipe at all. The dough was extremely sticky and hard to work with. The directions said to bake until firm, but after the time specified it collapsed when I poked it, so I kept it in, and then it got hard on top. Even then, the dough was still sticky and dense, and greasy from having to grease the pan. I was barely able to get it out of the pan at all, let alone in nicely sliced bars. It was a terrible mess and I'll never try that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I absolutely love these!! Mine don't ever turn out bad, like others have stated and I have made them several times. I do however omit the chopped candy canes. I just use the peppermint flavoring in the dough, sometimes sprinkle the chopped candy canes on top of the chocolate. It's never been too sticky to work with like others have said. I just flour my hands and spread it, its not difficult at all. GREAT CHRISTMAS COOKIE RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
great Christmas cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the directions completely and the next morning I tried to cut these into bars and it was as hard as a rock. My son joked that we could use them for Christmas tree ornaments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Clever concept. Just have to be careful cooking the cookie portion if you live in a "high altitude" area. I made that mistake on my first try with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I totally agree with BARB72. This recipe sounded really great and looked good, but was too pepper-minty. After I cooked it, the dough was hard on the edges and mushy in the middle. Also very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I followed the directions to the "T" and they turned out looking beautiful. Let it cool, cut a piece and it tasted HORRIBLE! The problem was, it had NO taste. You'd think with all the peppermint it wouldnt be lacking, but it was. I do not recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Florida, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
We added 10 drops of food coloring, and it made them nice and red. And, I floured my hands, too, to smooth the dough down, and it helped. We also used a whole bag of chocolate chips instead of just the 1 cup on top, which made them creamy! They taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
These are so good! To keep my hands from getting dough all over them, I used waxed paper to flatten the dough into the pan. This made it so much easier! The only problem I had with these bars was getting them out of the pan. I let them cool completely by putting them in the fridge, but for some reason, they did not want to come out of the pan. I will use a different pan next time. Definately a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States