Peppermint Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I thought these were really pretty good but they didn't do well at the two parties I took them to last year. I'll keep making them for my house though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I'm not a big candy cane fan, but this looked like a nice, festive recipe so I tried it. I decided to try it out before the holidays because of the mixed reviews I saw. I had absolutely no problem with the recipe at all. I used margarine, not butter, and I left out the food coloring and the crushed candy canes in the batter. I didn't find the batter greasy, I didn't feel the need to flour my hands, and when I cut into the bars, they were fine (I waited about 90 minutes after taking the pan out of the oven). The only thing I would recommend is using a little more chocolate -- my icing was a bit sparse in places. I scraped most of the crushed candy canes off the top before tasting a piece, and I thought it was quite good. I'm taking them to work tomorrow to make my colleagues be guinea pigs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
very good, very rich and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
We added 10 drops of food coloring, and it made them nice and red. And, I floured my hands, too, to smooth the dough down, and it helped. We also used a whole bag of chocolate chips instead of just the 1 cup on top, which made them creamy! They taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I'm usually a very good baker, so I really don't believe it was something I did, but these cookies were greasy. The taste was ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These bars were nothing like I expected. Not only were they very thin , but they became hard as a rock the next day. I won't attempt these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Easy to make. Very festive & colorful. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the directions completely and the next morning I tried to cut these into bars and it was as hard as a rock. My son joked that we could use them for Christmas tree ornaments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
THIS WAS AMAAAZING!!!!!!! so delicious! we added a little less butter, and left the crushed peppermint out of the batter, but still put it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
These were very good and easy to make. I will omit the candy on top as it's too sticky. Husband loved 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States