Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
very nice and easy. i had some problems with the white chocolate being thin enough when melting, so next time, the white chocolate gets spread first! great taste, i added a layer of peppermint flakes in between the chocolate layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Easy and impressive holiday candy. I used high quality chocolate and I tempered it over the stove. No need for the canola oil for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I make this every Christmas and the people I give it to always comment on how they like it. I didn't like how the layers separated so I don't wait for the brown chocolate to harden. I let it stiffen on the counter while I melt the white chocolate and then swirl them slightly before putting the peppermint candies on top. I like how it looks slightly swirled and it also keeps the layers together. It's better than Williams Sonoma's bark and a TON cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
UPDATE: MY COLLEAGUE LOVED THIS! HE SAID IT WAS THE BEST HOMEMADE GIFT HE'S EVER RECEIVED. :) Yum! This tops Williams-Sonoma's bark (and is much cheaper to boot!). Every year, my ambitious plans to make homemade gifts falls by the wayside. I have been wanting to send my colleague an edible Christmas gift, but haven't had time to make one... until I thought of this recipe. This was super easy to prepare, and other than the time needed to harden, it was ready to package up in no time flat. To speed prep even further, I transferred my bark to the freezer. I spread both chocolate layers on half of a cookie sheet (to compensate for a 9x9 inch pan). Because I had no wax paper on hand, I covered my cookie sheet with lightly greased aluminum foil. Finally, instead of using my microwave, I melted my chocolates in a double boiler (I've never had luck with the micro method). My only other change was to not allow my first layer to completely set before spreading on the top layer. I wasn't particularly concerned about my chocolates mixing and actually thought they looked pretty when swirled together. Oh, and I made sure to use the smaller pieces of crushed peppermint for the middle layer so that my bark wouldn't separate. Red and green sugar crystals added a nice finishing touch. Thanks for sharing your idea, Andrea! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe did not work at all for me. Putting a layer of peppermint in the middle is where it went wrong because I couldn't get the top layer of white chocolate to stick. Too bad! I was really looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Awesome recipe. my first time making peppermint bark and everyone loved it. No problems with the layers separating and I refrigerated for hours in between layers. I used candy canes to get more red coloring on top. I did struggle a little with the white chocolate in the double boiler, so I will use the microwave next time. I used the oil as the recipe stated and I think it helped the texture of the chocolate so it wasn't too hard to bite through both layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
much better than my usual white chocolate bark. prettier and tastier. while before, bark played the role of decoration on my Christmas cookie tray, people actually eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleylucas21
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
So great for the holidays! I didn't find use for the oil as well, and instead of putting chunks of candycane ontop of the milk chocolate, I used the 'dust'/extremely fine pieces from breaking them up to mix in while the white chocolate melted. Larger pieces were put on top to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleylucas21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
5 stars if the layers didn't separate. I should have followed the suggestions by others and not let the first layer set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used dark chocolate on the bottom, didn't use the oil and melted the chocolates in the microwave. It came out great! I slid the trays in our garage freezer because that is where I had room and they were fine there (even staying in overnight). I also stirred in the candy before spreading the white chocolate and that worked fine. I made a bunch of trays and found that the thinner the bark the more likely the two chocolates were to slide apart, but it still tasted great! I know there is a way to prevent this with tempering and types of chocolate, but I didn't find it necessary to go to that much effort. I made this for a neighborhood cookie swap and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States