Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I think this is a pretty good recipe. I agree with another poster (wombat) that microwaving the chocolates worked best, therefore eliminating the use for the oil. I only used the peppermint extract in the semi-sweet chocolate part, and left the white chocolate alone. I also did not put crushed candy canes between the layers...only on top of the white chocolate layer. In order to keep the layers from separating, you need to only let the darker chocolate set for about 5-10 minutes in the freezer, and then pour the white chocolate on top. Do not smooth it with a spoon or spatula. Instead, gently shake the pan to cause the white chocolate to settle evenly. One of my favorite ways to prepare this is by using the silicone mini-cupcake pans. They will pop right out of the pan when completely done, and they make the perfect bite-sized "peppermint patty", which not only looks gorgeous displayed, but also for giving as a gift. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Great recipe! It was delicious and it is a great Christmas gift or treat! thanks Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
The quality of this definitely depends on the quality of the chocolate used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is my favorite PEPPERMINT BARK. Last time I made it, though, I should have crushed the peppermint for effectively. My family asked that I pulverize the peppermint, and this is what I plan to do. Everyone has his/her own expectations for peppermint bark, though. It is difficult to fail IF you use the finest of ingredients. Peppermint bark is only as good as the chocolate you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann Hague
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I had leftover candy canes from Christmas, so I used about 6 candy canes that I crushed up into a powder because my father can't chew through candy canes much anymore(though they are a bit harder to crush so make sure you have a clean counter top in case the bag gets holes). Be careful about breaking the bark because the chocolate is super cold, and you might accidentally get your fingers caught in the force and hurt yourself. Simple other than that. Also, make sure if you are using oil in this to let the layers set otherwise the white will start to melt the bottom layer and you won't get a nice white top. Keep the chocolates refrigerated when not being eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smhayley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
so easy to make. addicting to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is a excellent recipe and my first time making bark. I did use candy canes instead of rounds since I had extras in the house. At my husbands request I added about 1/3 tsp peppermint extract to each layer the second time I made it. Yum. Thank you for the great and flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WIFE2SP
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I thought this recipe was great, and people loved it! I followed it the first time to a 'T', and it came out wonderfully! No separated layers or overpowering peppermint flavor. I agree the key is to use the higher-quality chocolates, such as Ghirardelli, which I used for both the semisweet and white. Also be sure to stir often when melting, making sure not to overheat the chocolate, and take it right off the heat as soon as it's melted. I used candy canes, too. My only complaint would be that after using the white chocolate as the top layer, It was virtually impossible to spread it evenly, and I ended up with dark and white swirls. It still looked pretty and it tasted fantastic. I'm trying something a little different with a second batch now, whereas I sprinkled crushed candy canes on the parchment paper first, poured the white chocolate over them for the bottom layer, and then drizzled the melted semisweet chocolate on top, finishing with more crushed candy canes. I think either way it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I followed the suggestions of others and just did this with Ghiradelli chocolate and white chips. Adding half the extract to the white chocolate made it seem to clump and lose it's smoothness, so I would just put it in with the milk chocolate next time. I didn't have any trouble with the two layers coming apart and I left the milk chocolate in the fridge for a couple of days. My hard earned advice is DON'T add milk to the white chocolate! I ended with a clumped, nasty mess and had to start that layer over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this three years in a row and it's always a huge hit. I've made a few tweeks that seem to make it easier. Instead of melting the chocolate on the stove, I do so in the microwave stopping every 20-30 seconds to stir it. I've also found that a super quick way of crushing the candies is tossing them in a food processor. I've only been able to find pre-crushed candies once, so the food processor speeds things up a bit. Instead of using wax paper I use the paper cupcake cups so the pieces are even and in "personal" sizes. It works great for packaging them up and mailing them too! Overall, a good recipe that I plan on using for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States