Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
ok I just made this I didn't have any peppermint extract so I used Andae's candy chocolate chip in place of the extract yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have made this recipe 4 times this winter for our family and for teacher's gifts, tweaking it a bit each time. The base recipe is great, but I would suggest some changes based upon my tinkering. For ease, chocolates (semi-sweet and white) can be melted in the microwave per directions. Also, I suggest using 1 tsp. oil for the white chocolate ONLY. After preparing the dark chocolate, place in refrigerator for 10 minutes while preparing the white chocolate. Letting it set too long is what causes the bark to separate when being broken apart. The only other suggestion I have is to use 6 candy canes instead of peppermint candies. Using too many candy cane pieces causes the bark to be abrasive when being eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipe is great and I've already made it several times this Christmas season. It's so easy to do the first step, let it cool and then come back and do the second step. It makes for a very festive, yummy gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
watching this recipe alone made me melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Per several reviews I made a few changes to make it worth the effort of two Hours.first,I made this with crushed candy canes not the peppermint candies. And I used both white chocolate and dark chocolate chips 12oz. instead of bar chocolate - in the microwave on the "melt" chocolate setting because I am simply not that patient while making 4 doz of the Sandy's supreme sugar cookies, which also turned out to be awesome.. Anyway, back to my point I chilled the first layer on wax paper with Pam sprayed on it to prevent sticking. On a whim, I broke the candy canes into smaller pieces and popped in the manual food chopper. It created fairly uniform pices with some sugar dust. Used a sifter to separate and put the small pieces on the first layer to avoid the challenge caused by too large pieces on the bottom layer. Used the larger pieces on the second layer to add pizazz and color. I highly recommend the use of a second layer of wax paper over the top of the finished product to break the pieces and keep the candy bits from flying about the room. We learned this the hard way, lol. The Big Guy immediately declared it as His! And put it in a container not to be shared as Xmas gifts...I think it was a huge success.. Total cost for 2 12 oz bags of chocolate and candy canes...5.60. Happiness of my hubby of 29 years? Priceless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Used 8 oz. semi sweet for first layer, and 12 oz. white choc for second layer. Used candy canes instead of peppermints. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Chocolate does not stick to waxed paper so there is no reason to grease the pan or the paper. After sprinkling the crushed peppermint, I lightly pat it into the chocolate to ensure that it sticks. I also took another reviewers advice and added the white chocolate about 10 minutes after the dark chocolate was in the refrigerator to keep the layers from separating. Instead of worrying about wax paper crinkles using a 9x9 pan, I just spread the chocolate on a cookie sheet and break off irregular chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Very hard to break up! I wouldn't put the crushed peppermints between the layers... Layers separated when I broke bark into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kr4k3n
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Separation anxiety solved. I did a LOT of research on the separation issue and red a TON of reviews. Mine didn't have any issues (lie... I had a couple minor bits that separated). 1) Control your TEMPER. When you melt it, the molecules get all crazy and you need to re-align them to make a bar. Tempering makes the chocolate harder and looks better. It's not hard, but you do need to use a candy thermometer to monitor it. This keeps the cocoa butter in the chocolate from "blooming" which means it moves to the surface creating a oily'ish layer that the white chocolate won't stick to. I probably butchered all that but here is an excellent article on it: http://www.craftybaking.com/howto/chocolate-temper-or-tempering-techniques 2) Build a mint bridge. After reading the reviews about too-hard candy, I used Bob's Sweet Stripes. They are more like a butter mint (not rock hard). I took the time to sift out the small parts and dust so that there wouldn't be a "dust" layer between the chocolates. Also, it looks better IMHO. when you press the candy into the chocolate, it bonds to it and the exposed parts are ready to latch onto the white layer. Guys... it's like rebar! 3) No oil. I'm sure it helps to smooth it but I thought it might not let it harden enough. 4) No refrigeration. Set it aside while you work on the white. When complete, just let it harden. Theory: the cold contracts the layer, let them cure at the same rate=better bond. 5) Score the back before breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kr4k3n

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was a big hit with my kids. Turned out great! A new Christmas favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States