Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Love these! I, too, left out the oil and they turned out wonderful. I melted them in the microwave and it took literally minutes. That being said, after the dark chocolate layer, keep in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes or you'll get the muddying everyone talks about. I just put the white chocolate layer on carefully and moved it around like frosting on a cake since it didn't "pour". I added red sprinkles to the peppermint on top and it was gorgeous for my Christmas cookie party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was so easy! The only thing I changed was to use a whole bag of semi-sweet chips and a bag of white chocolate chips so that I could have more bark. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious and easy!! The only thing I changed was I used coconut oil and it was so yummy! Thanks for sharing such an easy yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Oil is not needed for this. I use really high quality chocolate. Do yourself a favor and use the microwave, there is much less room for error when melting the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbecs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was the easiest and yummiest recipe! I took the advice of other reviewers and left the oil out. After the chocolate layer was poured, I added the crushed candies and really pushed them in good, then popped in the freezer while I made the white chocolate. After the white chocolate was melted, I added the remaining candies directly to the chocolate and poured slowly on top of the bottom layer. I spread the white layer very slowly so as not to get the muddy effect some others have mentioned. It turned out great! No muddying, no separating and it is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe for the past few years, and this years results were by far the best, following other comments I did not use the oil, I did not completely cool the first layer, it was only allowed to cool the time it took to melt the white chocolate. I added the crushed candies to the top of the chocolate layer and also into the white chocolate and then sprinkled on top of the white chocolate layer as well. I used a spatula to carefully spread the white chocolate layer and didn't have too much of a problem with the chocolate mixing in, best of all, I did 2 cookie sheets and both stayed together, in the past there was some separation of the 2 layers I think not completely cooling the first layer and the peppermint chips sprinkled on the bottom layer helped to keep the layers together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I LOVE peppermint bark. I cannot resist it. So I was really pleased to find this simple recipe. It was easy, and it turned out very well. My only gripe is that it seemed to get very soft at room temperature. All the peppermint bark I've ever bought from a store didn't do that. I prefer it harder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Cullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
exactly what I was craving. LOVE this recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was so delicious my husband has eaten almost the entire batch! We love the mix of semi-sweet chocolate and the minted white chocolate. I did not use any oil but instead used a can of sweetened condensed milk. I melted the chips with the sweetened milk together in the microwave. I also poured the second/white chocolate right on top of the chocolate layer without refridgerating it first. The layers never separated. I have taken the idea of combining two different fudge flavors and made a dark chocolate/cherry batch and a chocolate/peanut butter batch. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States