Pepperidge Farm® Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Family loved it! Omitted the mushrooms and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Ferrari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years and my family loves it. When I first went to make this I had a hard time finding the beef tenderloin, then I saw a cooking show where they showed me how to get one. Alton Brown has a show where he takes a pismo and shows you how to butcher it out to get steaks and a tenderloin roast. Very easy. The only change I make to this recipe is I put pate down on the pastry before the onion/mushrrom mixture. This is a yummy, easy recipe that we all love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Turned out PERFECT! This has always been my husband's favorite and I've never been brave enough to make it myself but this was easy and terrific. Based on some reviews I added a small amount of extra butter, parsley & garlic to the mushroom mixture. I also kept the juices from the 1st roasting pan & served it heated along with the meal to add flavor to the meat. The meat was perfectly pink in the middle. TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I'm not a fan of mushrooms so I doubled the onion and cooked them down until they were quite reduced and caramelized. It came out wonderful, way better than I expected. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Overall the flavor was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
As written, recipe would hardly feed 10 people satisfactority. I doubled it for 12 people, refrigerated seared beef overnight and added gorgonzola to cooked portobello mushrooms and onion. I forgot to egg the pastry before assembling the dish but it didn't seem to matter. The dish looks beautiful when it comes to the table but the meat, while very tender, is also very bland. Several people asked for horseradish. Although it was lovely it was too much work. I don't think I'd do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Unfortunately I am going to have to agree with Amity. This steak turned out way too rare and the pastry was very soggy. I can think of better things to do with a tasty beef tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter, not taking any liberties, and my meal came out soggy, lacking in flavor and way too rare for my family's taste. Perhaps I will have to cook it for longer both times or my new thermometer is inaccurate. Gonna have to pass on trying this one again any time soon, but at least I can say that I cooked Beef Wellington once in m lifetime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Okay, I don't know how the kid below me cooked this so perfectly but I'm 23 and have basic cooking skills and this came out mediocre...I guess can't be too hard on yourself on first try. First, I had to substitute the tenderloin for sirloin which came out okay. If you use sirloin I would suggest keeping an eye on the meat because it cooks really easily (mine came out too done). Second, I peppered mine way too much! You just want to sprinkle it lightly all over unless you like a lot of pepper. Lastly, make sure the surface for the pastry is floured like it says! Really important! At least I know how to perfect it for next time and hope this helps you too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I thought this was a prettydecent, user-friendly recipe for beginner beef wellington-ers. I did notice in some of the other reviews that people were actually substituting with other cuts of beef and then complaining about how it turned out. I can't stress enough--DON'T DO THAT! You have ruined this recipe before you even start if you use anything besides a tenderloin. That's the whole point of wellington--to marry the delicate pastry with a tender and flavorful cut of beef to create a beautiful and very tasty presentation. Don't waste your time making this if you aren't going to splurge on the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States