Pepperidge Farm® Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
hi im a kid, and my dad always talks about how he wanted to eat a beef wellington again since he was little. he never got around to finding the recipe and for fathers day i made this for him and he loved it! i was soo proud and all of them went fast. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I thought this was a prettydecent, user-friendly recipe for beginner beef wellington-ers. I did notice in some of the other reviews that people were actually substituting with other cuts of beef and then complaining about how it turned out. I can't stress enough--DON'T DO THAT! You have ruined this recipe before you even start if you use anything besides a tenderloin. That's the whole point of wellington--to marry the delicate pastry with a tender and flavorful cut of beef to create a beautiful and very tasty presentation. Don't waste your time making this if you aren't going to splurge on the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a good recipe EXCEPT for being under-seasoned and leaving out the liver pate. My changes: I used 2 Tbsp butter, left out the water, and added 2 cloves of garlic and 3 Tbsp. chopped parsley to the mushrooms and onions as I sauteed for about 5 minutes, until the onions were tender. Seasoned lightly with salt and freshly ground pepper and beat in half of an 6.5 oz package of purchased liver paté (I use Paté Paysan from Les Trois Petits Cochons). Then I followed the directions and it came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn58
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
These were absolutely delicious. I had only the individual puff pastry so I rolled them out and placed one on the bottom and one on top of 6 oz filet mingon. Another change I made was I Added a bit of red wind with the onion and mushrooms along with a bit of kosher salt. It was a big hit at our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I've made this before, either whole or individual beef wellingtons from tenderloin steaks. I'm just wondering who has a circle of friends/family in which 2 lbs. of tenderloin feeds 10? Wouldn't happen in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANLAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
AMAZING!!! Loved it, but I did make a madeira wine sauce to go on it and wowzers was it nummy! I made it with yukon gold mashed taters and asparagus with a cheese sauce. Molten lava cakes for dessert! It really was a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelz35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I would have given this a higher rating, but I didn't like the meat I used because it was really tough! Also, I wouldn't cook it for 30 minutes because it was too well done and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
great recipe, i used mushrooms and bacon bits instead of liver pate, came out great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsaul

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Okay, I don't know how the kid below me cooked this so perfectly but I'm 23 and have basic cooking skills and this came out mediocre...I guess can't be too hard on yourself on first try. First, I had to substitute the tenderloin for sirloin which came out okay. If you use sirloin I would suggest keeping an eye on the meat because it cooks really easily (mine came out too done). Second, I peppered mine way too much! You just want to sprinkle it lightly all over unless you like a lot of pepper. Lastly, make sure the surface for the pastry is floured like it says! Really important! At least I know how to perfect it for next time and hope this helps you too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't have beef tenderloin, had to use eye of round roast but it was still very tender and very good. It does need a sauce though, we put some horseradish on it and it was better, so I'm going to experiment with some horseradish sauces to go with this. Can't wait to try with a tenderloin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States