Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent! However, I also doubled everything except the Bacon and Pasta. Had some fresh Basil so I chopped it. I deglazed the pan after browning the bacon to keep from getting to much pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
a little dry but i will add more tomatoes next time! overall very good and I will definately be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I used this dish as a base to make a more substantial variation. I added chicken that I had marinated in balsamic dressing and baked in the oven and sliced. I also used plain bacon (all I saw at the store) and omitted the extra salt. After the bacon cooked I left enough grease in the pan to sautee 4 cloves of garlic (love the stuff) and added a can of diced tomatoes that had onions in it (saved me a step). I let that simmer for a bit, stirring up the bits of bacon and then I added a bag of spinach and let it wilt. I put my pasta, bacon, parmesan cheese, chicken in a large bowl and added some balls of fresh mozzarella then topped with the sauce and tossed it all together. The mozzarella melted slightly and all of the flavors blended together amazingly. Delicious!!! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My husband absolutely loved this dish. I cut the amount of pasta in half because it was only the two of us and used italian diced tomatoes, otherwise everything was the same. My husband wants me to add shrimp to this dish and serve it for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mylalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
this recipe was a real hit - my wife suggested we save it for important guests. I made it exactly as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was sooo yummy! I used 3 large bulbs of garlic, and a 28oz can of diced tomatoes and lots of fresh basil, cause i had it. There was lots of sauce using the larger can of tomatoes. I let it reduce down longer than it says in the recipe. Very simple to make! It got great reviews by my parents who 'happened' to be around. I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shananananan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this was excellent but it seems i always tweek recipes a little to my liking or to what's on hand. i used regular bacon, about 1 cup of red onion instead of green, got rid of 2/3 of the bacon fat, added about 1/2 cup of frozen peas to the sauce and about 1/2 cup of the pasta water as well. I didn't add any extra salt and stirred in about 1 tablespoon of fresh basil at the end and used about 1/2 cup of parmesan. I also used large shell and wagon wheel pasta together. My husband and picky 16 year old son loved it. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Just finished eating this for dinner and thought it was very easy to make and excellent. Like others I drained all but a couple TBS of the bacon grease and doubled everything but the pasta. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
We doubled the sauce ingredients as one person suggested. Great. Also good as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent&Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe was good alone, but l made a few minor changes that made it even better- taste-wise and health-wise. l first sauteed the chopped bacon and then drained it leaving only 3 Tbsp of grease, l added chopped vidalia onion and let that saute for about 5 minutes (until soft), then l added Frozen spinach and a the can of chopped tomato with juice- this was enough water to cook the frozen bag of spinach. l then let the onion, tomato, hot pepper flakes and spinach cook for about 7 minutes (until the spinach was fully cooked). After the pasta was cooked and drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, l added the cooked bacon pieces to the pan with spinach, tomatoes etc. so they would stay crisp. It came out WONDERFUL with a sprinkle of fresh parm. cheese. This dish tastes wonderful without bacon- if you're worried about cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fvb21687

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States