Pepper and Olive Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nikki_kaldas
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Fantastic recipe! We doubled the amount of garlic and added some onion in with it. Then doubled, maybe even tripled all the spices. We also used yellow and red bell peppers with the green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_kaldas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I am cooking this right now and fully expect it to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I altered the recipe somewhat but it was fantastic! I didn't have olives and I added about 1/2 cup of onions. I used 1 1/2 red peppers and a dash of tabasco sauce and 2 Tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese. I also only had 24 oz of vegetable juice. My husband loved this! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was surprisingly good. I had a hinkling to have spaghetti and meatballs when I got home but while I was knuckle deep in ground beef I realized that I might not have sauce. I found this recipe and beefed it up a bit. (literally) I added black olives, green olives, canned mushrooms, drained canned tomatoes, lots of herbs and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I used extra garlic and way less oil. Delicious served over rotini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Oh my goodness! This is the best pasta sauce I have ever had!! It tastes like something I'd get from a fancy Italian restaurant!! I just worked with what I had on hand..I only had two small peppers from my garden and a couple cans of diced tomatoes in my pantry...so I just diced up the peppers and olives to make them go farther and pureed the diced tomatoes. These are the only two things that I did different and it turned out excellent!! Oh yah...I also added about a 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese to make it a little thicker...Awesome stuff!! Its definitely worth repeating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
i didn't have the all the tomato cocktail, no white wine or olives. i used 10 oz of cocktail and tomato paste, burgandy wine, and peperonici instead. I also added mushrooms,leek and onion. 1/4 the green pepper. left out the red crushed. add feta. it was good, probably worth 5 stars but i didn't follow reicpe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My husband and I didn't like the red pepper in the sauce, just too spicy for us. I did add feta cheese. It took longer to cook down than I expected. Without the red pepper I'd give it 4 stars, but not so sure about my husband....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
It was different tasting, but still yummy! I made a few changes, I used manzilla olives instead b/c thats all the store had and I only put 24oz. of veg. cocktail in b/c other reviews said it had been runny. Overall a yummy recipe, and ver easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Awesome! Made the following modifications: Added chicken for protein and used only one green and one red bell pepper. The bonus was that I used Trader Joe's mixed olive bruschetta and only 6 oz. of it rather than the 8 oz. that the recipe called for if you had used regular olives. Also used tomato sauce instead and seemed to work out fine. The boyfriend loved it and asked me to make it again :-}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States