Pepper Steak and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Cooked this today it was AWESOME! My husband could not stop raving about it so thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bosslady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
One of the BEST RECEIPES for pepper steak!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gardendale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I have used a similar recipe obtained from my parents for years. Definitely use soy sauce and we always added a can of cream of mushroom soup/water to the meat once it was fully cooked. It is important that the meat be simmered in water for quite a while, as in a crock pot to get tender first. Then follow the receipe. Great food. Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I agree with other writers- It definitely needed soy sauce. Turned out delicious! I used green, red, yellow and red peppers- cause I had them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have had Pepper Steak and Rice before but had never made it, and I don't remember my mother making it while I was growing up, so it was not a comfort food for me. It was very simple to make and, I must say, quite delicious. Thank you HELENWRG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I used about 1tbsp of soy sauce and added McCormick's brown gravy to give it an extra boost. It turned out great. I will definitely be making pepper steak like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This recipe is great. I used kitchen bouquet just for the color, because thats what my mom did, and soy sauce and salt for taste. Used Jasmine rice. Even my son the soldier loved it, and he doesn't like bell pepper or onion. Way to go Helen, definatly worth the ink to print it for my recipe folder. Would have given it 5 stars except there was no soy sauce in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
we added just a bit of brown sugar to ours , just because we like sweet chinese food, but it was great!even the leftovers were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I tend to find that stir fry type things over white rice just don't do it for me. I decided instead to put this over salad. I sauted the onion and bell pepper as directed, leaving the pepper still kind of crunchy; added the steak, used garlic powder (I hate dealing with garlic) a dash of paprika and black pepper, and for "browning sauce", I used a bit of soy sauce. I cut out the cornstarch and just used what I came up with to top over romaine lettuce and spinach leaves. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipes was very good except for one thing. The meat was extremely tough. I followed the advice of another poster and marinated the meat for several hours. Still came out tough. Next time, I will slow cook the meat in the marinade so that it becomes tender and then add it to the sauce. I also used beef broth instead of water as it did seem bland. Overall, I give this recipe a thumbs up with a little tweeking. I think I will add more veggies next time also. Maybe some pea pods and bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States