Pepper Steak and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
We really like this dish. This is the second time that I have made it and the only thing I did different was use 2 cups water and soy sauce for the browning sauce. For those who don't know what browning sauce is, it is made by Kitchen Bouquet and it is called Browning and Seasoning Sauce. I've used it to make brown gravey from the juices of a roast. I will be making this dish often. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Kind of bland...maybe soy sauce should be used in place of the browning sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I used soy sauce because I didn't know what browning sauce is. However, I used more than 1 teaspoon. I just kind of seasoned to taste. We enjoyed it and it was very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very Very Good. I purchased beef stir fry and marinated it in Soy Sauce, Black Pepper, Garlic Salt and a splash of red wine. I sauted a bag of frozen Pepper Stir Fry in olive oil and then added the meat. The gravy was delish with a little doctoring. I also added some red pepper flakes and I used Adobo instead of season salt with an extra splash of Soy. My husband gave it two thumbs up. Was really good but there were no left overs at all. Only fed 2. Oh well. My meat came out a little tough but I would definately make again. My friend said to buy rib eye and slice it. Any suggestions with meat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
A little bland. I did as the previous reviews suggested and added a tbsp of soy sauce, however it was still lacking something. I added some plain table salt to my own plate once I served it and it was terrific. So...when making it in the future I think I will add about a tbsp of salt during prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THECHEF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This came out delicious~! Next time I would use only 1 tbsp of corn starch. It came out way too thick for our taste and I fixed it by adding some beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This recipe turned out perfect. Sunday was the first time I ever tried cooking peppersteak and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
What a keeper! I used red bell peppers instead of green and it still turned out great. I also went ahead and substituted the brown sauce for soy sauce instead. This is a great recipe and it had TONS of flavor. I added a lot of pepper to my dish, hey this is pepper steak afterall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
My family was very happy with this recipe Helen. After sauteing the vegies and meat I put everything into my slow cooker. I replaced the water with a can of beef consomme and beef broth and added a few more seasonings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
NOT BAD, BUT I DID HAVE TO ADD A FEW THINGS TO GIVE IT FLAVOUR. I LIKE TO MAKE RECIPES THAT ARE EXCELLENT WITHOUT HAVING TO CHANGE OR ADD TO IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States