Pepper Steak and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe, I did not add the cornstarch, I added more water and seasonings such as garlic powder, steak spice and old bay which gave this a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalleyTheGreat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This dish was quick and easy to prepare. I agree with others that it lacks flavor. I used what I thought was enough salt but still was kind of bland. My kids didn’t think it was bland, they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit! Even my 3 kids cleaned their plates. I used soy sauce instead of browning sauce. I also added a touch of worchestershire sauce for an extra kick of flavor. Very good dish, will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I replaced the water with beef broth...that seemed to give it an extra little kick :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I've made this recipe both as stated and with me adding more to it. This recipe as states is LACKING flavor. Very very bland. This is what I did to revise it....I added teriyaki sauce to about 1/2 cup of water for the "browning sauce" I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2...I used a whole large onion, salt and pepper to taste, paprika to taste ..I also steamed broccoli to stir in with the beef and rice...it was delicious..hubby asked to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
this was very good i did use extra garlic but thats just because we like garlic. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
NOT BAD, BUT I DID HAVE TO ADD A FEW THINGS TO GIVE IT FLAVOUR. I LIKE TO MAKE RECIPES THAT ARE EXCELLENT WITHOUT HAVING TO CHANGE OR ADD TO IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This had too much cornstrach, you could really taste it in the sauce. Will look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
We really like this dish. This is the second time that I have made it and the only thing I did different was use 2 cups water and soy sauce for the browning sauce. For those who don't know what browning sauce is, it is made by Kitchen Bouquet and it is called Browning and Seasoning Sauce. I've used it to make brown gravey from the juices of a roast. I will be making this dish often. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Was an okay, average meal, but not really impressive in flavour or presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States