Pepper Rice and Confetti Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This was a good recipe, I will try it again. However I will just make regular white rice w/water. The chicken broth didn't seem to make much of a difference. I just made this again last night, it was definatley better. I seasoned the beef and bell peppers with a fajita seasoning packet while cooking on the stove. I threw the green onions in the beef mixture during the last 5 minutes. I doubled the honey mustard sauce. Lastly, I served this NEXT TO steamed white rice, cooked with out the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This dish was great but lacked flavor :-( My daughter and began adding things to pep it up a bit. We ended up adding sliced onion, chopped garlic, and a tad of fresh ginger. Viola! It turned out great! The rice also required more liquid than called for in the orginal recipe. We also added coarse black pepper and used chives instead of the green onions. It all turned out wonderful! The children found it a hit as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This recipe was great! Very flavorful and healthy! My only suggestion would be to double up on the Dijon/honey mixture as it seemed that it needed more sauce. I bet this recipe would be great with chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Quick & tasty! This recipe was a hit with my family. I didn’t have chicken broth, so I served this with Basmati Rice and left the green onions out for the kids. Also, I seasoned it with “Emeril's essence” instead of salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This recipe was really good as a basic recipe. I didnt make the rice how they said, I just made basic white rice. I used about 2 generous table spoon amounts of soy sauce and some sesame oil to give it an asian flavor. Instead of a green onion I used a regular onion. And finally, I added about 1/4 cup of orange juice to the mixture. It turned out well, just be careful not to overcook the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I didn't care for the odd combination of ingredients in the meat part of the recipe, however, I continue to use chicken stock and scallions in my rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
My father loved it and has asked me to make it again, so, I thought this must be really good! and I, since then switched it to "family favorite" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Fantastic quick dish with tastey results everyone loved! I used double the original ammount of honey and dijon mustard, as it did need a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This was very good! Much to my suprise my children loved it. My husband said it had great flavor. We will have this again and agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Having read what other's said, I added some sliced onion and to get a bit more sauce, beef broth and a bit of cornstarch. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tax pro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Central City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States