Pepper-Parmesan Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I used reduced fat sour cream in this salad dressing. When I made this dressing, I added the white wine vinegar a little at a time, tasting after each tablespoon--two tablespoons was just enough for me. I ended up thinning it out a bit with reduced fat milk. I really loved the combination of ingredients in this dressing. This was nice drizzled over wedge salad. I'd like to make this again but maybe add some fresh chives and maybe a little onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not bad for a quick dressing - I highly recommend adding the white wine vinegar a Tbsp. at a time to your desired taste though. I cut the recipe in half and used about 1 & 1/2 to 2 Tbsp. and that was plenty for me. I also used less pepper as well. If you want a thicker dressing be sure to use less buttermilk - add it slowly until you get the desired consistency. I let it set for about and hour to let the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I was expecting a thicker dressing. Even when I added more sour cream and parmesan, it didn't do the trick. I recommend adding only part of the buttermilk and vinegar at first and then adding more to get the desired consistency. This definitely was not the PP dressing we made in the restaurant where I worked in college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is one of the best dressings I've ever tasted!!! It has the consistency of a vinagrette, so be forewarned if you're looking for something thick. It can be made a little healthier with a low fat buttermilk (I didn't think it diminshed the taste at all). Also beware the amount of black pepper used--1 tbsp or less should do the trick if you don't like it too hot. Great recipe otherwise though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This dressing was a little to wartery for me. I even added more sour cream and cheese to thicken it up. It did not work. However, I did like the taste. I will try it again, but will figure out how to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Thankfully I tweaked this recipe based on previous reviews, or else I think this would've gone in the garbage. I added about 1/3 cup light hellmans mayo to the dressing to thicken which resulted in the desired consistency for me, although not as creamy as a restaurant version of this dressing. I cut the vinegar back to 3 tbsp. which was plenty. I upped the fresh black pepper a bit based on personal taste. This needs tweaking still, next time I'm using one clove of garlic bc that taste was stronger than I would prefer. All in all I will try this again though bc it was fairly light for a white dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
A keeper! First time around, I didn't change a thing. Now that I've made it a few times, I think (for my tastes) it's a little heavy on the buttermilk. So I cut down a little bit on that and the pepper. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Great dressing. Could have used some more kick, maybe I could have added more salt and pepper. Tasty:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Reduce the amount of buttermilk to 1/4 C, use 1/2 C sour cream and leave out the vinegar and replace with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice (or more to taste), and add a good splash of olive oil. This should whip to a thicker consistency (adding more buttermilk as needed). Also if you want a nice blue cheese dressing simply replace the parmesan with crumpled blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I loved this. I used it over mixed greens and red onion and it was amazing. Id make it again. I did use milk I soured myself since I dont keep buttermilk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States