Pepper-Parmesan Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I was expecting a thicker dressing. Even when I added more sour cream and parmesan, it didn't do the trick. I recommend adding only part of the buttermilk and vinegar at first and then adding more to get the desired consistency. This definitely was not the PP dressing we made in the restaurant where I worked in college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This dressing was a little to wartery for me. I even added more sour cream and cheese to thicken it up. It did not work. However, I did like the taste. I will try it again, but will figure out how to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is one of the best dressings I've ever tasted!!! It has the consistency of a vinagrette, so be forewarned if you're looking for something thick. It can be made a little healthier with a low fat buttermilk (I didn't think it diminshed the taste at all). Also beware the amount of black pepper used--1 tbsp or less should do the trick if you don't like it too hot. Great recipe otherwise though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Great dressing. Could have used some more kick, maybe I could have added more salt and pepper. Tasty:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
A keeper! First time around, I didn't change a thing. Now that I've made it a few times, I think (for my tastes) it's a little heavy on the buttermilk. So I cut down a little bit on that and the pepper. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Whew, this recipe is a little heavy on the vinegar. I also had to add alot more garlic and some cayenne. It was a little thin, so next time I will add equal parts of heavy cream and buttermilk. Just okay . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Thankfully I tweaked this recipe based on previous reviews, or else I think this would've gone in the garbage. I added about 1/3 cup light hellmans mayo to the dressing to thicken which resulted in the desired consistency for me, although not as creamy as a restaurant version of this dressing. I cut the vinegar back to 3 tbsp. which was plenty. I upped the fresh black pepper a bit based on personal taste. This needs tweaking still, next time I'm using one clove of garlic bc that taste was stronger than I would prefer. All in all I will try this again though bc it was fairly light for a white dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Nice dressing. I added the buttermilk and vinegar a little at a time to make sure it wasn't too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe turns out well if you make *serious* alterations. I didn't add any milk at all and it was still quite runny. I think it would turn out nicer if you added 2-3 Tsp of lemon juice instead of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I creamed everything except the buttermilk and added it at the end to reach my desired consistency. good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillaraah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States