Pepper-Honey Cedar Plank Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I had to adapt without availability of cedar, but still a delicious recipe....two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcreek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Absolutely best salmon recipe we have used. We used untreated cedar plank from old tree we had planed last year. The plank was a little thick & we were a little hesitant that it wouldn't cook completely, but it cooked within time frame recommended & was delicious with a delicate smokey flavor! And then the sauce was the kicker: delicious! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I made this with Tilapia instead of Salmon. The sauce seemed awfully thin, so I ended up simmering for about an hour, and added a finely chopped onion about 30 minutes in. It came out a wonderful consistency, a little thinner than syrup, and the flavor was out of this world. This will be one of our new regular recipes, as it is now one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Outstanding! I will be making this again and again, one of the best things I've ever cooked. I didn't use a plank of any kind, I simply cooked it in the oven at 400 for about 20 minutes. The sauce stayed a thin consistency for me, but that was fine, I just poured it over the fish before and after baking. This sauce has a little punch to it, but my boyfriend who hates spicy food didn't find it too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was great, I used value pack cheapo salmon and they didn't taste fishy at all! Great marinade/sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I'm making this AGAIN tonight! I make it exactly as stated. Tonight I'm making it with salmon and giant prawns for DH birthday. Don't be afraid of the sauce, it smells a little strong when your cooking it down but TASTES fantastic! Like other reviewers, it took about 35-40 minutes to get the sauce to the consistency that I wanted. *************FANTASTIC!!!*****************
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvisdog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was easy and delicious! Instead of grilling them, I baked them in the oven on 350'F for 20 minutes and they turned out great! I also suggest you serve it with some of the sauce and slices of lemon atop the salmon. The lemon juice balances out the sweetness of the sauce. I'm making these again tomorrow for our Sunday family dinner. Thanks for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I was a little worried about the amount of sugar and honey along with the pineapple juice. I thought it would be too sweet, but it's not. It's very good. The sauce caramelizes around the edges of the fish while grilling. YUM! The only thing I did different was to marinate the salmon in some of the sauce before grilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
So sad there aren't more stars. I followed the recipe to the letter, the second time not so much and it still truned out great. The first time my Alder planks started on fire ( I left the heat on to long) but was able to save the salmon. The second time I used cedar planks and we think we like the Alder planks better, Maybe it was the extra smoke from the fire that added all that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
WOW, this is the best Salmon recipe i've tried and i've tried many!! My sugestion for the sauce, let it simmer a lot longer (about 30-45min. to really get the syrup consistancy) before you let it cool!! PERFECT!! I'll be making this one over and over again!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferandRichmond Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States