Pepper-Crusted Beef Tenderloin with Chocolate-Port Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We all enjoyed this dish. I made the mistake of using a dark 60% chocolate that was not bittersweet. Then I had to "doctor" the sauce by adding more balsalmic and salt. In the end it was good but you could taste the chocolate too much. Also, I made this for 8 people so I quadrupled the sauce when 2X the sauce would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Incredible!!!! I had something similar in Canada, and the restaurant added blue cheese on the top, so I added blue cheese and the two flavors were wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was in fact, Excelent! I did make a few alterations to the original recipe. First, I used a bonless rib eye roast insted of tenderloin. I had no shallots so I substituted onion, garlic and ginger. The ginger flavor was subtle but added complexity. I used boulion insted of beef stock. I added some chopped bacon to add some smookey meat flavor. I thought it could use a thickener, so I added a teaspoon of flour/water. Next time, I think I would chop the onions and garlic a little larger to keep the sauce more chunky. I trippled the recipe (6 servings) for the sauce because it looked so good. Now I have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
The sauce was simply to die for! I made the recipe exactly as written except I used choice petite sirloin and grilled it outside. The sauce may sound strange, but it it is superb! You must try it to believe it! Makes a romantic entre for you and your special someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This sauce was amazing ! I carmelized the shallots and sprinkled them over the top instead of mincing them and putting them in the sauce. I set the steak over roasted red potato rounds (cooked in olive oil until crispy). The flavors and textures were awesome. I also accompanied the fillet with a sea scallop. I think the sauce mixed even better with the scallop ! There's a local restaurant that does a simila sauce that everyone raves about, but this sauce is superior. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
fantastic recipe. The fresh rosemary does the trick and blends wonderfully with the port, balsamic and chocolate. I just added a pinch of corn flower to thicken the sauce just a bit more. Also added pepper corns and a bit of salt in the sauce. It combined wonderfully with mashed potatoes (cooked with grated cheese and nutmeg) and asparagus. Be sure to try this recipe and you wont regret it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is the best sauce I have ever tasted, It's great with scallops, chicken and pork tenderloin as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This dish was delicious. We didn't have port in my house, so I substituted Cream of Sherry for it instead--it was still yummy. We also didn't have shallots so I minced garlic and red onion together. I cooked this for my parents and they were both extremely impressed. I plan on cooking this for my boyfriend soon! I definatly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very Good! Loved the sauce. Easy to make, yet tasted gourmet. I served this with mashed potatoes and carmelized butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Easy to prepare, sauce is very good. I would use about half the chocolate next time; it had slightly too strong of a chocolate taste for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States