Pepper-Crusted Beef Tenderloin with Chocolate-Port Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT RECIPE. SEARING THE STEAKS IN A HOT PAN INSTEAD OF GRILLING THEM GIVES THEM A NICE STEAK-HOUSE LIKE RESULT. I ADDED JUST A BIT LESS CHOCOLATE AND A BIT LESS VINEGAR, AND THE SAUCE WAS ABSOLUTLY PERFECT WITH JUST A HINT OF CHOCOLATE. MY FILLETS WERE FROM COSTCO, SO THEY WERE VERY THICK. I COOKED THEM ABOUT 5 MINUTES A SIDE, OR TO 123 DEGREES ON MY MEAT THERMOMETER FOR MED. RARE. I THEN WRAPPED THEM IN FOIL FOR A FEW MINUTES FOR THE JUICES TO RISE. YUM!!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
If I could give this 100 stars, I would!! We made this recipe exactly as stated, without changing or substituting a single thing. My husband and I licked our plates CLEAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinesburg, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was excelent! I made the recipe with no changes, and it tasted perfect. If I didn't know better, I would have thought I bought it at an expensive steakhouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent recipe! Make sure to take the shallots out or the sauce is chunky. Pay attention that the chocolate doesn't get too thick, an A-1 consistency seems right but not what I ended up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
you would never believe the sauce would be this good looking at the ingredients but they blend so nicely. I thought the sauce tasted too chocolatelyat first until I added salt and pepper to taste and a splash more port. Then, it was as good as any restaurant would serve. We had people over and this was served on the plate with a filet mignon in the center of it and it was oh soo good. I recommend this dish for entertaining and you would swear you served a 300.00 dollar meal for way less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I prepared this with ribeye steak, and while the sauce was interesting, most of us thought it was a little too rich. I may try this again with half the chocolate as others have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
WOW!!! This was amazing! Probably the best meat dish I have ever had!! Perfect for a romantic dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
The sauce was terrible, we wouldn't eat it. I don't know if that is because of my cooking or my flavor preferences, but the rosemary was overwhelming, and the sauce was bitter. Adding more chocolate to try and salvage it didn't work either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
We tried this last night with great success. I reduced the beef cooking time a minute per side, to only three minutes, which gave a perfect medium rare. The sauce was incredible! My boyfriend is still raving about the unique flavours. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Geek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States