Pepper Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
It sometimes seems that some of the most satisfying recipes/dishes arise when I'm leaving town and wanting to make use of what I've got in the fridge so it doesn't go to waste - and when a last minute trip to the grocery store seems wasteful. So with some remnants of red, orange, yellow and green peppers, a couple of chicken breasts in the freezer and a partial package of orecchiette (little ears) pasta in the pantry I threw together one heck of a fine meal with this recipe. It comes together quickly and easily with a minimum of steps. It uses just a few, simple, fresh and delicious ingredients with classic piccata style (lemon butter sauce and fresh parsley) flavors. But five stars? You bet. Just because it’s easy, and just because it’s humble, doesn’t mean it isn’t worthy! Other than not measuring precisely, and other than adding a little glug of white wine, I followed the recipe pretty closely. Oh...and as always, in consideration of Hubs’ sensitive innards, I left out the cayenne. (But if I was to add a little kick I would have preferred crushed red pepper flakes) As I mentioned earlier, I tossed this with orecchiette pasta and, to complete the meal, I served it with a Caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This was a very good dish, but I admit I didn't "cube" the chicken breasts (I see now that doing so would allow more flavor to be absorbed). I did add juice of one half lime to the lemon juice, however, and used one red / one green bell pepper for even more color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
It was pretty tasty, but not really worth the cost of all the produce and all the effort. If I had it at somebody else's house I'd definitely enjoy and compliment it, but knowing the cost and effort that goes into it I now know it's really not worth it. A few things to make sure of if you do decide to make it: It calls for way too much onion. The colorful peppers were nearly hidden by all the onion, and it made it look like there was very little chicken. Use half as much onion. Also, be sure not to overcook the peppers and onions - I didn't have this problem, but I could easily see it happening. Finally, add capers! Chicken Piccata just ain't Chicken Piccata without capers. (I've always considered them part of the definition of Chicken Piccata.) They add a lot of flavor and complexity to this recipe. I served it over bow-tie pasta. I was glad I did, as it would have otherwise been kind of plain. Reducing the onions by half would make it look a lot less plain because the colors of the peppers would show better. All in all, a tasty meal - but one I probably won't have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Good, easy recipe. I have to laugh at Marshall Gatten who doesn't think it's worth "all the produce and effort"! He must usually eat TV dinners - that's the only thing easier I can think of, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Excellent! This combines some of my favorite flavors. I used olive oil and an extra clove of garlic. Make sure that you follow the recipe precisely to deglaze...it creates a wonderful sauce. I agree that it might be a little better with the onions diced rather than in wedges, but that is a minor detail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was fast and yummy. I chopped the onions instead of wedges. Cooked garlic with red peppers. Added herbs de Provence to sauce. Cooked farfalle pasta separately, then stirred it into the chicken mix in the skillet at the last minute. Yum! Topped with a little pares am cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Luzerne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I liked this. I will use it some this summer as it is quick and not to heavy. The chicken picked up the flavors nicely. I added some italian seasoning to with the red pepper and i really like the complexity it added. I also marinated the chicken in lemon juice, white wine, butter, salt and pepper overnight. I think marinating is a good idea for this because it might be bland without it. I served it over white rice for a nice simple and quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
The wife and I both enjoyed this. I added some jalapeno pepper to incorporate it into the jalapeno rice pilaf we had made (also from here). I also added a tomato to it about a minute before it was done to add a bit more variety in the flavor. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Tasty and delicious. Mixed it all with bowtie pasta, scrumptious. Will definiatly make again. Extra Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
This was a quick and easy meal to prepare. Very tastful, wonderful presentation of colors. Went very well with egg noodles, will be fixing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States