Pepper Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Very bland. Did I do something wrong? Not sure how this has a four star average. Good news . . . I used the left overs to make awesome chicken tortilla soup the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
There's lots to like about this recipe, and the wine selection is perfect, but nevertheless, as a major recipe tinkerer, I changed it up a lot. In place of vegetable oil, I used extra virgin olive oil -- this is an Italian recipe, no? (I suppose you can use vegetable and olive oil in combination if you wanted to save money, and reduce the chance of scorching.) I used orange bell peppers only because it's what I had in stock -- they're similar enough to red in taste, and color-wise looked better in combination with the other ingredients anyway. I cut them into small strips rather than dicing. (Yellow bell peppers might have been the ultimate choice.) As for the onions, I was afraid they would take too long to cook and end up too bulky in the result, so I quartered the quarters. At the stage of adding lemon juice, I also threw in 3 to 4 tablespoons of the Pinot Grigio and 2 tablespoons capers (drained!) -- we can't call it "piccata" without capers, can we? Since there's more liquid at this stage, and I wanted to tame the capers a bit, I deglazed for 1 to 2 minutes. One thing missing from the recipe was the stove heat setting. I cooked at medium most of the time. It turned out pretty well. Yum! UPDATE: I also forgot to mention that I separately cooked some angel hair pasta and served the piccata over that. It was a scrumptious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This ended up being pretty bland. Lemon didn't do much to brighten up the sauce. This ended up tasting like an old family recipe we cook frequently and like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
loved this! used a teaspoon of solid ready chicken stock to add flavor. Also left just a touch of garlic and onion in pan to add flavor to the browning chicken. Light and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I really didn't like this. I found it to be bland and pretty uninteresting. If I ever made it again, I would alter the recipe so much that it wouldn't even really be the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe got two stars because the chicken came out pretty good and probably because I marinated it. My wife called the flavor "blah". The meal was very bland and overall disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I give it 5 stars because it's a very nice meal that requires little effort and most of the ingredients were on hand. I served it with brown rice and I used half the amount of onion and diced it. I think 2 large onions would have been way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Easy, delicious. I omitted the cayenne pepper and substituted olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Super easy and tasty. Had more flavor than expected with just the few ingredients. I saved time and money by using my grocery stores pre-cut frozen pepper and onion blend and used olive oil instead of veg oil. Do cut up your chicken to get the most flavor out of the dish. I served over pasta and with garlic Texas toast. Will defiantly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannimachile83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This dish was simple. I followed the recipe. It reminded me of a stir fry. I would not make this for company or anyone I would want to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T-Brothers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States