Pepparkakor II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
These are my favorite cookies to make for the holidays! Bit of a pain cutting them out, but worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggourde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ichikawa, Chiba, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is the exact recipe my grandma used -it is also in the "Our Swedish Heritage" section of the 1943 North. Park Covenant Church women's cookbook I inherited. My recipe calls for syrup - I use maple syrup. I make them for my Swedish dad, brother and friend each Christmas and they are wonderful! Make sure your dough has time to chill or they will be impossible to roll out. I remember trying to make for the first time by myself when I was 20 something and it was a sticky disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Absolutely loved it! i did use molasses instead of corn syrup, and i think the clover was VERY pronounced so i will use a tad bit less next time. This is the closest thing to REAL swedish pepparkakor, they smell amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Best find this Christmas! I was looking for a homemade version of the Anna's pepparkakor cookies and I'm so glad that I tried this recipe. The dough smells so wonderful and it was easy to roll out and cut with minimal use of flour. (I think it's easier to handle than the typical sugar cookie dough!) The finished product tastes delicious and it's perfect for anyone that truly wants the flavor of holiday spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I just made these and they turned out perfectly! The dough was beautiful to work with, not sure why people were having problems. I didn't refridgerate it first and it wasn't sticky at all. I did sub molasses for the corn syrup and did 3/4 white sugar and 3/4 brown sugar. I thought they had good flavor and consistency. I think next time I will try them true to the original recipie just to see which I actually prefer. Reminds me of childhood, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I substituted the corn syrup for molasses as suggested by The Web Lion. Instead of orange zest, I used the finely-grated zest of one lemon and, instead of OJ, used 2 Tablespoons of lemon juice. Everything else about the recipe is perfect and it is definitely a 'keeper' for future Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bukit Timah, Central Region, Singapore
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These could be really good with some tweaking, I think. My biggest complaint about them is that they are a nightmare to roll out. I tried without refrigeration and it was a mess. I put them in the fridge and then the dough was too hard. Once I got them rolled out, they stuck to the counter, with or without flour down. I think the temp on this recipe may be a little too high also. May try again when I have more patience because they do have a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This recipe was fantastic, thank you for sharing it! I tried chilling the dough, but found I was able to work with it much easier when it was closer to room temp. I cut them in the shape of stars and sprinkled some icing sugar on top. An awesome alternative to gingerbread at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is a nice cookie. I didn't have the patience to do cutouts with it, so I followed another reviewer's lead to make into logs (one recipe yielded two for me) and chilled then sliced. Didn't make for the prettiest cookie since I didn't have perfect rolls but it worked. Reminiscent of a snickerdoodle almost to me in terms of the spices, although not quite. The dough definitely is too soft for my liking immediately after mixing--chilling definitely seems to help. I like softer cookies so I cut the bake time down to 6 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My grandmother emigrated from Sweden in the late 1920s. I have HER mother's recipe. Swedes do not use corn syrup, they use molasses. Americans use corn syrup. Oranges were not common in ordinary Swedish homes in the early 19th century, so skip the orange ingredients. Cut into pig shapes? Must be another American custom. Hearts, stars, ruffle-edged rounds, fir trees, sometimes reindeer are traditional shapes, but especially hearts and stars. And making a small hole off-center to permit hanging on a ribbon on the tree is very traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States