Penuche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've made this recipe a few times. It is really good!! To change things up, I left out the pecans and added a 1/4 cup diced candied ginger (from Trader Joes). I followed other reviews and heated the penuche to 234* and waited until it cooled to 110* and then whipped it. It always turns out good, too good, I end up eating too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is the first time I've tried penuche (usually my sister-in-law makes it). I followed this recipe, using Chris D. Williams' tips, and it was perfect from the first batch! As for those people who are having trouble getting it to set up: well, I can sympathize, because when I made it at home on my gas cookstove, it was great, but now that I'm at a friend's house I made some on her electric stove, and it's different! It's in the fridge now. I'm not sure if it's going to set up. Anyway, this is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
First off, the flavor is great! I followed the recipe to the tee (usually I browse the reviews before starting, but I went into this one blind), bringing the fudge to the exact temperature, then cooling it to 110*, as is standard for fudge. When I was beating the fudge, it had a sticky almost butterscotch consistency. After I poured it into the pan and cooled it, it was solid as a rock. It's not particularly grainy, but very solid and not at all creamy. Next time I might add butter while beating it, or cream as another person suggested. Anyway, flavor is great, but consistency needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
really good! rave reviews from all who try it. adjusted slightly on the cream to make it a frosting - easiest cake frosting ever, just poured it over and let it harden. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I was inspired by this recipe yesterday to use as the frosting for the caramel cake I was making. I increased the cream to 1 1/3 cups and cooked the mixture to 236F. I poured the penuche into a clean mixing bowl without scraping the sides of the pan to cool. I added 3 Tbsp's of butter to the top of the hot mixture without stirring it in, as it cooled to 110F. When cool, I added the vanilla and beat the mixture by hand until it was thick enough to spread and frosted the cake. I used what I needed for the cake and continued to beat what was leftover and scraped it into a buttered mini loaf pan to set up as fudge. It set-up perfectly. Excellent flavor and creamy smooth texture. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this last night for a dinner party and it turned out perfectly. One of my guests even drew my aside at the end of the evening and asked for a piece to take home :) For those who had trouble with this recipe, please keep in mind that fudge is somewhat tempermental, and if you made this recipe the same way every day for a week, it might not turn out every time. It's just the nature of fudge. Don't give up; this recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I followed these tips and it's sooooo yummy my father says it's the closest thing to his mother's recipe he's ever tasted. I did not touch it once the sugar was dissolved as per recipe. Once it became a soft ball in the water I turned off the flame and didn't touch it for almost an hour! I even put the pan in cool water to help the process, but I understand a drop of water wrecks a bath of fudge so be careful if you try this. It is soooooo delicious. Thank you very much for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Wow! I followed the recipe to the point of beating the cooled mixture and then I used a hand mixer set on medium for 5 minutes as suggested by other reviews. I thought it wouldn't set up but I put it in the fridge and it was perfect, so creamy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
OMG I printed this off yesterday and made it as soon as I got home...had no candy thermometer so I winged it...followed recipe exactly and the results were DELISH. Brought half of it to work and it was gone before first break....rave reviews from all and I now RULE at work....thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States