Penuche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This is such an awesome recipe! I had tried other Penuche recipes which failed horribly, but this one was perfect! Kudos to Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
After making six batches of this recipe in order to perfect it, I would advise the following: 1. Cook to no more than 234 degrees - if if cooks at higher temperatures, it will be very stiff and somewhat grainy. 2. It is very important to let the fudge cool in the pan to no more than 120 degrees, 110 is better. Just leave the candy thermometer in to check this. This cooling process takes at least an hour, so allow extra time. 3. For an even smoother fudge, add 2-4 Tbs of cream as you are beating the fudge. This will make the fudge easier to slice. 4. Beat for at least 3 minutes with a good quality hand mixer. It will not look like it has set up when you put it in the pan, but put the pan in the fridge and a few hours later, it will be set. I don't usually go to this amount of trouble, but the flavor of this recipe is so good, it was worth it - and even with their flaws, eating the trial batches was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Very Very Good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Awesome recipe!! My penuche came out light, fluffy and delicious. It tastes like it came from a candy store and was very easy to prepare. I allowed the mixture to cool to 115 degrees and whipped with my Kitchen aid as per a previous review. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I followed these tips and it's sooooo yummy my father says it's the closest thing to his mother's recipe he's ever tasted. I did not touch it once the sugar was dissolved as per recipe. Once it became a soft ball in the water I turned off the flame and didn't touch it for almost an hour! I even put the pan in cool water to help the process, but I understand a drop of water wrecks a bath of fudge so be careful if you try this. It is soooooo delicious. Thank you very much for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Awesome. I whipped it for 5 or so minutes on high speed after it was cooled a bit from the stove and that made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I was inspired by this recipe yesterday to use as the frosting for the caramel cake I was making. I increased the cream to 1 1/3 cups and cooked the mixture to 236F. I poured the penuche into a clean mixing bowl without scraping the sides of the pan to cool. I added 3 Tbsp's of butter to the top of the hot mixture without stirring it in, as it cooled to 110F. When cool, I added the vanilla and beat the mixture by hand until it was thick enough to spread and frosted the cake. I used what I needed for the cake and continued to beat what was leftover and scraped it into a buttered mini loaf pan to set up as fudge. It set-up perfectly. Excellent flavor and creamy smooth texture. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
OMG I printed this off yesterday and made it as soon as I got home...had no candy thermometer so I winged it...followed recipe exactly and the results were DELISH. Brought half of it to work and it was gone before first break....rave reviews from all and I now RULE at work....thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnmarie29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Wow! I followed the recipe to the point of beating the cooled mixture and then I used a hand mixer set on medium for 5 minutes as suggested by other reviews. I thought it wouldn't set up but I put it in the fridge and it was perfect, so creamy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this last night for a dinner party and it turned out perfectly. One of my guests even drew my aside at the end of the evening and asked for a piece to take home :) For those who had trouble with this recipe, please keep in mind that fudge is somewhat tempermental, and if you made this recipe the same way every day for a week, it might not turn out every time. It's just the nature of fudge. Don't give up; this recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States