Penuche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This is such an awesome recipe! I had tried other Penuche recipes which failed horribly, but this one was perfect! Kudos to Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This is a tasty,creamy fudge but it is too sweet. I'd like a softer fudge that isn't so sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Very Very Good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I tried making this recipe twice. The flavor is great. I'm just having a hard time with consistency. I used a candy thermometer also, that didn't help. It seemed to sugary for my liking. Creamy would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I followed this recipe to a tee and after 3 hours, this never hardened. Something is missing from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This fudge turns out soft and creamy with an excellent brown sugar flavor. Make very sure to let the fudge cool to about 110 degrees before stirring to get it to that creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Excellent recipe. Turned out perfect, had a very good flavor and even having to use a candy thermometer, was extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I must have done something wrong--even with my new $14.00 candy thermometer!--because it came out hard and grainy (like maple candy). However, the flavor was spot on, and out of this world. In fact, both my husband and I thought the flavor was much better than the that of the "Panocha Fudge" recipe from this same site that we'd also tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
After making six batches of this recipe in order to perfect it, I would advise the following: 1. Cook to no more than 234 degrees - if if cooks at higher temperatures, it will be very stiff and somewhat grainy. 2. It is very important to let the fudge cool in the pan to no more than 120 degrees, 110 is better. Just leave the candy thermometer in to check this. This cooling process takes at least an hour, so allow extra time. 3. For an even smoother fudge, add 2-4 Tbs of cream as you are beating the fudge. This will make the fudge easier to slice. 4. Beat for at least 3 minutes with a good quality hand mixer. It will not look like it has set up when you put it in the pan, but put the pan in the fridge and a few hours later, it will be set. I don't usually go to this amount of trouble, but the flavor of this recipe is so good, it was worth it - and even with their flaws, eating the trial batches was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Awesome. I whipped it for 5 or so minutes on high speed after it was cooled a bit from the stove and that made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States