Penuche Sugar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I have searched high and low for a Penuche recipe that comes close to that my father made when I was growing up. This is it! I also made a second batch and varied this recipe by adding maple extract and it tasted like maple sugar candy. My family has gone nuts over this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Just like Grandma's. I have been looking for this recipe forever. Thank you soooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This was so delicious! Quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Tastes amazing, but the texture wasn't quite right. Its probably because I tried to make this without a candy thermometer (although I did take it off at the soft ball stage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Just like Grandma used to make. Amazing flavor! I used evaporated milk like my Grams instead of cream. The family was elated to taste this delicious fudge again. Perfect Penuche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I made this w/ peanuts. It was very easy and quick. Tasty too. Pretty sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
It turned out crumbly. It tasted okay but the pieces just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I used fat free half-and-half and it turned out quite well -- not quite as creamy as I would have liked but this was possibly due to boiling or beating it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It was the tastiest failure I ever made. I made this for a Christmas goodie basket, and it was so runny it had to be frozen before packaging. I thought everyone would be put off by it's texture, but everyone was licking it off the waxed paper! People raved about it. I would suggest cooking it to a higher temperture and being very sure that is crystalizes, but I have no complaints about the flavor- it was absolutely delicious. The perfect flavor makes it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe as written. I was a little disappointed. I was hoping for a smooth, creamy texture. Instead, it turned out quite granular, like a soft cube of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States