Penny's Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Love this cake! I serve it with the bottle of leftover Jameson's for folks to add to taste. Always well received at gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made this a few times exactly to the recipe. Comes out delectable every time! I have yet to try it with other liquors, but I am excited to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
NOTE: I did NOT make the glaze for this cake as I had other plans for icing. The actual cake is fine, but really, it's a waste of whiskey. The batter is awesome and gives great promise of a rich, whiskey flavoured cake. However, once cooked you'd have to be a completely tee-totaller to find a whiskey taste to it. I myself am not a whiskey drinker and I could barely taste it. The whiskey drinkers in my family couldn't detect anything. I wish I had saved the whiskey to just serve along side. Save yourself the expense of the alcohol and only use the whiskey in the icing, don't waste it in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I've done this cake once, and adored it. Perhaps I didn't cook the glaze enough, but we all actually got a slight buzz from eating this baby. Not that any of us minded. I now use this glaze as well when I make a Guinness stout cake, as the whiskey glaze on the layers before the icing, really gives it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krueger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Delicious cake. Well received by family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gkfederman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This cake is absoultely amazing - it is so moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
After reading reviews, I started watching for cake to be done after 30 min. Mine was done at 45 min. Like Penny said, very easy to remove from the pan but I sprayed liberally with Bakers Secret. Also cut the sauce whiskey down to 1/4 cup because it was going to work. The whiskey in the cake stayed at 1/2 cup. I did not add the whiskey at the end but simmered it 15-20 minutes with the butter/water/sugar to cook off some of the alcohol which worked perfectly as it left just a faint Jack Daniels taste and smell. Next time i will use the whole 1/2 cup in the sauce as cooking it on top the stove is very effective in eliminating the alcohol "bite". I inverted the cake on a plate but changed my mind and instead of poking holes and pouring sauce over, I put the cake back in the pan and poured the syrup around the outer edge so the cake could just sit and soak in the sauce for 10 minutes. Then inverted it back on the plate. Perfect for work if you cook the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This cake was so moist and delicious. The only thing I changed was I used 1/4 cup whiskey for the glaze instead of the 1/2 cup the recipe calls for. I would definitely recommend this recipe and will make it again for sure! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Amazing cake - tastes especially delicious if frozen first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have made this cake SO many times and thought maybe I should finally review it. It is DEEELICIOUS! I make 2 versions: this one to the letter and then a chocolate version... just use chocolate cake and chocolate pudding and add 1/3 cup instant dry coffee to mix...follow Penny's directions and this is always a hit! The cake is ALWAYS gone within 10 minutes, so double up on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States