Pennsylvania Greek Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I lost my recipe from the Erie newspaper for greek sauce and came back to my trusted All Recipes. This is great. I used more tomato sauce b/c I only had a larger can, maybe around 12 oz. instead of 8 oz., added a bit more mustard, red pepper, and a squirt of ketchup. I simmered much longer so the additional liquid was used up and broke up the meat very fine using the "P Chef" "Mix & Chop" (my fav tool for ground beef). Served with Smith's hot dogs and used as a topping for baked steak fries. Delicious! Wish my waistline would allow me to eat like this everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Thanks for the recipe, and the memories. I grew up in Erie, and Greek Dogs and Burgers were a late-night staple, most often from Panos Restaurant. I was recently trying to explain what Greek Dogs were to my daughter, now she knows. We did not get up to Erie this summer, so I'm going to have to have some Smith's hot dogs shipped down to Florida. Thanks to you and your sister, Miz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Loved this sauce.. reminds me of home Erie/Corry PA! The only thing I made sure to do (that wasn't mentioned in the recipe) was to mash the browned beef with a potato masher. All of the Greek sauces that I have eaten have an almost smooth consistency. PS~WhitMcMo, we didn't name the recipe or the sauce ~it's called Greek Sauce all over Northwestern PA and here in Western NY too ~ "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
At first I didn't think that this was going to taste right. After I fixed a dog though, it reminded me of the many Greek Dogs I used to eat as a 6th-7th grader from the Greek restaurant down the street from our apartment. This is what I did: I put a hot dog on a bun, topped it with the sauce, sprinkled on some diced sweet onion, squirted a line of mustard, wrapped the whole thing up in some wax paper, let it sit for a few minutes, unwrapped it and enjoyed. It smelled and tasted just like the hot dogs I used to buy from the Greeks. As for the recipe, I mashed the meat up a bit finer as it was cooking. Because I accidentally used about a half a pound more meat than called for, the liquid started to evaporate. I fixed this by adding a little water and powdered beef bullion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Not being able to find greek sauce in the stores anymore, I went on a search and came across this one. And funny as it is, from my home town of Erie, PA. I did change a few things for a little more kick by adding chili powder and chyanne pepper powder, and used Franks Red hot to add a little tang to the mix. Took some greek dogs to work today to see how the guys liked it...the only thing they said would make it better was a beer with the greek dogs. I have to agree. This will also work well to make your own meat for Tacos or sloppy joes. Thanks Miz...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
We usually don't cook with ground beef, so I used turkey instead. Instead of crushed red pepper flakes, I used cayenne pepper. This tastes as good as it smells! If it hadn't been for AR, I'd have never known about this recipe. Thanks AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Followed this recipe to the T and it was AMAZING!! Tastes just like the greek sauce at the greek places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orwell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have been away from home for so long and when I found this recipe it brought back all the memories of Erie, PA.....loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Did not like at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was pretty good but not quite the greek coney sauce we are looking for. I cut the red pepper down to a quarter of the original amount, and used beef broth instead of water since I had it to use up. I added the broth right from the start along with the beef and this gave the meat the perfect fine crumbled texture. That's my secret way to get the fine texture and works better than a potato masher or food processor. Thanks while this was a good sauce, we are still searching for the perfect greek coney sauce. (If anyone has the Economu's recipe that is the one I wish to duplicate.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States