Pennsylvania Greek Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
To be honest I've gotten so many compliments on this recipe. I'm from Erie, PA and people have told me it's much better than the local greek sauce place New York Lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is very good. the best recipe in my opinion would be like the sauce at the BP Inn in brockport Pennsylvania. There is nothing like it anywhere. Does anyone have this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a great receipt for some who loves Greek dog. Taste soooo good!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I have never been to Erie, PA and have never tried greek sauce so I really don't know if this is a good sauce. I didn't think it had enough flavor and I followed the recipe as stated. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My parents are both from Erie, PA and Greek sauce has been made in my family for at least 50 years. It's a summertime essential! I would eat it by itself. Now that I'm a non-red meat-eater, I make this recipe with higher-fat ground turkey and it's nearly the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This recipe is excellent when modified slightly. I omit the water completely as it really doesn't add anything to the recipe, and add a 22oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of 8 ounces of tomato sauce. I also add two or three cloves of pressed garlic. I cook the onions to glassy with garlic first, then add beef on top. This gives the beef good flavor and ensures the onions are the perfect consistency when everything is cooked. In addition, I throw in a dash or two of cayenne and a couple squirts of ketchup. Once it is to a boil and you've turned the heat down, use a potato masher to get it to the consistency you find at Red Hots, New York Lunch, or Panos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Just like Hamburger Heaven in Erie,Pa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this over the weekend and it was super. I used a hand chopper to reduce the size of the beef after browning it. Aside from that I followed the recipe and everyone loved it. Reminds me of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is excellent. I substituted cayenne for the red pepper flakes because that's what I think I remember eating at Vico's as a kid in Erie, but it's been a while so I'm not sure about that. The sauce did end up a bit dry after simmering for 45 minutes which is perfect for topping hot dogs (not too sloppy) but doesn't do so well on top of an omelet, so maybe a bit more water and/or tomato sauce for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
My husband loved it. Used fresh basil cause that's all I had. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States