Pennsylvania Greek Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was pretty good but not quite the greek coney sauce we are looking for. I cut the red pepper down to a quarter of the original amount, and used beef broth instead of water since I had it to use up. I added the broth right from the start along with the beef and this gave the meat the perfect fine crumbled texture. That's my secret way to get the fine texture and works better than a potato masher or food processor. Thanks while this was a good sauce, we are still searching for the perfect greek coney sauce. (If anyone has the Economu's recipe that is the one I wish to duplicate.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a great sauce for dogs and stuff. Delicious just the way it is! I added a few drops of hot sauce the second and third and now fourth time i made it. Good stuff if your looking for chili look on, this is what we call "SAUCE"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
My husband and I are Erie natives that moved to SC and were craving greek fries and greek dogs and I came across this recipe. I followed it to a T, and it tastes exactly like RED HOT... Only thing is, it didnt say what kind of cheese to use. Thank goodness I have a friend that works there and she told me!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Now I don't have to go out to get Greek dogs !!!!! Very easy and just the way I like it,a little spicy. The only thing i did differant was to run this in my food prosesser to give this sauce a smoother consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Loved this sauce.. reminds me of home Erie/Corry PA! The only thing I made sure to do (that wasn't mentioned in the recipe) was to mash the browned beef with a potato masher. All of the Greek sauces that I have eaten have an almost smooth consistency. PS~WhitMcMo, we didn't name the recipe or the sauce ~it's called Greek Sauce all over Northwestern PA and here in Western NY too ~ "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is a terrific, traditional north western PA Greek sauce. I'm not sure if, like a previous reviewer, there is much that is Greek about it other than the oregano, but I do know that all the Greek restaurants in Erie use something very similar on their hotdogs. When I lived in Erie, I used to buy a mix at the store called Pulos (that greek enough for you?), but now that I'm relocated, I have to do it from scratch and I use this recipe. One tip I will give, which I retain from the old Pulos directions, is to mix your tomatoe sauce in with the raw hamburger if you want your browned hamburger in finer pieces without having to cook it for a long time. Thanks, Miz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was very tasty coney-type sauce... but the only Greek thing was the oregano. I would use it again, but never call it Greek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Thanks for the recipe, and the memories. I grew up in Erie, and Greek Dogs and Burgers were a late-night staple, most often from Panos Restaurant. I was recently trying to explain what Greek Dogs were to my daughter, now she knows. We did not get up to Erie this summer, so I'm going to have to have some Smith's hot dogs shipped down to Florida. Thanks to you and your sister, Miz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Followed this recipe to the T and it was AMAZING!! Tastes just like the greek sauce at the greek places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orwell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have been away from home for so long and when I found this recipe it brought back all the memories of Erie, PA.....loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States