Pennsylvania Dutch Sour Cream Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very good -- much more interesting than the usual boiled cabbage or sour kraut, though I love sour kraut! I used Lowfat Greek yogurt, and it worked beautifully. (NOTE: Oikos is the creamiest Greek yogurt I've tried so far -- Cabot is pasty) My typical choice for "sour cream" has been Greek yogurt for years, and I change between the three fat contents at will, choosing whichever I think will be good in the recipe. I'm convinced that this recipe would be good with any of them. I cut back on the sugar (to taste) to be sure it keeps its sour tang, and used 1 Tbsp more flour. My father-in-law grew up in Southwestern New York State, and loved a recipe his mother made. No one has ever been able duplicate her recipe successfully -- it always curdles. Dad's mother gave the recipe to his new bride, and when she made it for him as a newlywed, humiliation was the result. She never tried it again, so Dad hasn't had it in over 60 years. This year, his Thanksgiving table will have this sour and creamy cabbage on it, and made by yours truly. My wonderful mother-in-law has been gone for several years now, but at least her sweetie will have the opportunity to reminisce on his childhood while he feasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Still delicious with a lot less sugar and vinegar. I used a large head of cabbage, 1 stick butter, 1/2 c sugar, 1 c vinegar, and the 2 cups of sour cream. It was very rich. Next time, I think I will use 4 T butter, 1/2 sugar, 1 c vinegar and 1 c sour cream, which in my book is still a pretty rich vegetable recipe. Don't get me wrong, it tasted great with all that butter and sour cream, but it could still be great with a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMACRI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I really liked the sweet/tart flavor. I made enough for 5 servings and cooked it down until it was a thick consistency. My husband didn't think it was bad, and he doesn't care for cabbage. He suggested having it with kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I remember my gramma making this on cold winter days. She liked to use purple cabbage too. I fix it like she does - using some bacn drippings in with the oil - or replacing the oil. You can cut down on the vinegar and the sugar to taste if you are afraid it will be too sour or sweet. If you are used to Pennsylvania Dutch food though - it will be perfect as written! I can eat it as a meal by itself with some crusty bread slathered in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Just the right combination of sweet and sour, but it was too soupy. I had to thicken it with mashed potato flakes. Next time I'll cut the vinegar and sugar in half. I grew up in the largely German section of South Saint Louis, and my mother also did a similar dish with bacon instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I made this just as the recipe said and it did not turn out at all. It tasted horrible and made my apartment stink for hours. Could have been just me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I also felt the recipe would be too tart with that much vinegar and I decreased it to a little less than half of what it calls for. It was great. Very flavorful and a nice side for anything bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Really interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Tried this recipe a second time with just a 1/4 cup of vinegar. I liked it better. The tartness in the orignal recipe was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States