Pennsylvania Dutch Potato Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I gave this recipe 1 star for the following reasons..... 1. The season salt. 3 TBS is a ton of salt in the first place and real PA Dutch filling doesn't have season salt in it. Just salt and pepper. 2. The fact that the bread is just to be added soft into the potatoes as they are in the mixing stage. This is very odd. The bread should be cubed and browned in more butter then added after the potatoes have already been mashed. 3. The lack of eggs 4. The crazy amount of butter on top. The top should be dotted with a TBS or 2 of butter but 1/2 cup is way to much. The majority of butter should be in the dish not on it. You are already cooking the celery onions and bread in butter not to mention making the mashed potatoes with butter. 5. The veggies should be softened but not browned. 6. This should be made the day before to allow the flavors to really meld together 7. This dish should NOT be covered while baking. When putting the filling in the dish do not smooth the top down all the little peeks and the top will get a yummy brown top. And last but not least even more season salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
SAGE is the "secret" ingredient -large pinch of SAGE. It is not Thanksgiving without this dish- this WAS our stuffing growing up. I just always thought it was a Yankee recipe. Mom must have learned it in Home Ec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been making this particular dish for 30 years. It is a nice alternative to just plain mashed potatoes or plain bread stuffing. My only comment is that I find that for some reason, the tatse is better if the mashed potatoies are a day or even a few days old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful "comfort food" !!! Excellent with the traditional Thanksgiving dinner. My family has made this for every holiday dinner for over 40 years. Everyone we have shared this dish with has loved it and asked for the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Grew up with this--it wouldn't be a holiday meal without it. The secret ingredient is eggs. Both my grandmothers always mixed in several raw eggs as they were mashing the potatoes. Gives it a little color and "crustiness" when baked. (5 stars if you go easy on the salt and saute the bread cubes with the onions and celery.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
hi , this is an update to my review.this is so awesome i make it at least once or twice a month because of requests.new story for u. i mentioned before my son drives truck he is here once or twice a week. i always make meals for him to take w/him.he has been sharing some of his food with other drivers.they love this dish. i went with him on a trip.when i met some of his co-drivers, they said ur the one that makes that delic potato thing.some even offered me money to make it. i told them to go to allrecipies to get the recipe so their wives could make it for them.. thanks again shuanaR for sharing. its a stand by for me now.and it freezes great thanx again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I make a version of this recipe every holiday. The only difference is that I fry the bread cubes also. It adds a little crunch to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Been eating this since I was old enough to eat.. my mother always added Marjoram..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I grew up with this "stuffing" in Southern New Jersey--I never knew it was Pennsylvania Dutch!(We just called it Mom's Potato Stuffing.) I make my own version with browned ground turkey and dried cranberries added for a one-dish meal. This is so popular at church suppers/family buffets that the last time I brought it -it was gone before I got up to it in line! It makes a big difference to use real potatoes (even day-old as mentioned) and fresh bread(french is best without the crust) but you can take short cuts and use instant potatoes and stuffing mix--but I wouldn't! (My guesses for the "secret" ingredient would be either ground sage or nutmeg...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bedford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShaunaR
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It is interesting when this recipe receives a bad review based on when someone else suggests adding in "fun" alternatives to it. This is the bare bones recipe. Please only review it based on that, not on what others added or didn't add. These are amazing potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States