Pennsylvania Dutch Potato Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The secret ingredient that's missing is Marjoram. I'm 63 and have enjoyed this during the holidays since I was a kid. Use Marjoram to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
The missing ingredients that you mention are egg and turkey drippings. We add the turkey drippings to top instead of butter just before baking (uncovered) Also, to make a smooth, mashed potato-like consistency, my mother in law Puts the chopped celery and onion in a food processor with a little water to Get it like a baby food consistency. Than we fry that in butter. Sound weird but if you don't like chunks but like the flavor it works. She also dries the bread out ahead of time, crumbles it in a large bowl, and adds milk until it's wet. Thanks for the amounts of ingredients. My mother in law eyeballs everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The secret ingredient is poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I, too, grew up with this stuffing and there is nothing like it! The only differences in my mom's recipe was that she used mashed potatoes from the start, she added an egg, added parsley, and she sauteed the bread cubes in butter before adding them. Not much difference in taste in any of those changes. There is absolutely no other 'stuffing' like it! By the way - it's delicious as a left over - my mom used to make "patties" and fry them for breakfast the day after Thanksgiving or Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Taste great even making it with gluten free bread family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My family has been making this for decades. We always boil the potatos with a tablespoon of saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Grew up with this--it wouldn't be a holiday meal without it. The secret ingredient is eggs. Both my grandmothers always mixed in several raw eggs as they were mashing the potatoes. Gives it a little color and "crustiness" when baked. (5 stars if you go easy on the salt and saute the bread cubes with the onions and celery.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shauna Rhoads
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It is interesting when this recipe receives a bad review based on when someone else suggests adding in "fun" alternatives to it. This is the bare bones recipe. Please only review it based on that, not on what others added or didn't add. These are amazing potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Rhoads

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I gave this recipe 1 star for the following reasons..... 1. The season salt. 3 TBS is a ton of salt in the first place and real PA Dutch filling doesn't have season salt in it. Just salt and pepper. 2. The fact that the bread is just to be added soft into the potatoes as they are in the mixing stage. This is very odd. The bread should be cubed and browned in more butter then added after the potatoes have already been mashed. 3. The lack of eggs 4. The crazy amount of butter on top. The top should be dotted with a TBS or 2 of butter but 1/2 cup is way to much. The majority of butter should be in the dish not on it. You are already cooking the celery onions and bread in butter not to mention making the mashed potatoes with butter. 5. The veggies should be softened but not browned. 6. This should be made the day before to allow the flavors to really meld together 7. This dish should NOT be covered while baking. When putting the filling in the dish do not smooth the top down all the little peeks and the top will get a yummy brown top. And last but not least even more season salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States