Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! As a child growing up, my mom made pickled eggs and beets each year as part of our Easter tradition. I always looked forward to them, and I wanted to find a recipe that matched the way I remember them tasting. This one did the trick! I have a large glass gallon pickle jar that I wanted to fill, so I actually used 20 hard-boiled eggs, and I quadrupled (yes, four times as much) the rest of the ingredients. I used 4 cans of regular (not pickled) whole beets, which gave me 4 cups of juice. To the juice I added 4 cups of sugar, 3 cups of vinegar, 2 tsps. salt, 1 tsp. pepper, 8 bay leaves, and 48 whole cloves (they're small!). (As for the onion, I used one extra-large onion, cut it in half, and sliced it into thin half-rings.) It sounds like a lot, but it made just enough liquid to pour over the eggs, onions and beets in the jar, with just a little left over. I made two layers each of the three items in the jar--first beets, then onions, then eggs. I recommend allowing them to refrigerate at least 3 to 4 days. I made them on Saturday afternoon (3/15), and this morning, Wednesday (3/19), they finally taste like they've developed the full pickled flavor. Yummy! Thanks, Cindy, for helping me to recall some fond childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Was ok but I still prefer using jars of pickled beets, the store brand is usually best but pick whichever looks more deep purple. For 6-7 eggs I simmer only 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup cider vinegar with the juice from 1 16oz jar of pickled beets and it tastes exactly like the ones my Pennsylvania Dutch Grandma made and is much easier. Don't forget to stir or shake once or twice a day for even color. 48 hrs is a minimum, will usually take four days to be colored through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Tasty eggs. The purple color is outrageous! For my taste, a bit too sweet. However, if you put some tobasco on these, the sweet / hot flavor is very, very good. A good recipe for those who like their pickled eggs a bit sweeter. If you prefer sour, you might not prefer these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
My mother makes pickled eggs with beets, but instead of the brine she puts in a jar of the little yellow hot peppers along with the juice. Wax peppers, not pepperoncini. If you're looking for a less sweet version, you might like it that way. This is also an Easter favorite for us, as the eggs come out looking so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I use any type of beets, no Bay leaves and fewer cloves. This just like my old family recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
We always had this at Easter when I was a child since we had so many hard boiled eggs left over from the Easter Bunny. My mother used to go one step further, with the leftover beets and pickled eggs - she made 'Beet Salad' - similar to making potato salad, but use beets in place of potatoes. Dice the beets, dice the eggs, chop some celery and onion (if you like both or either) and mix with mayonaisse. The color is amazing as the mayo takes on a beautiful pink color - and the taste is something you'll love forever. Its too bad people have this fear or hatred towards beets - they are the best thing out there! Try the beet salad, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Been craving pickled eggs for years and finally found a receipe that tasted like my Dad's who made these year round. Simpley the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Just recipe is just like the one my Mom used to make. I was looking for a pickled beet recipe and came across this one. It is delicious and easy to make - I actually tripled the recipe and it didn't even last a week in the fridge. If you like pickled beets - these have the perfect blend of spices. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This recipe is the best for beets and eggs I have ever made. They were gone at one sitting!! My Mom made these eggs every Easter & I have always done the same. You won't be disappointed in this recipe. Good Job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These were good, but a little too sweet. I will definetely make them again, but use less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States