Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Excellent. Just like my Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pickering Ford Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
We've tried a lot of pickled egg recipes and this is by far the best. Even my daughter ate them - and she hates pickled anything! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmoelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Perfect. Just like I remembered. A big hit with the hubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These remind me of my childhood :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FTBLOSU

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
great pickeled eggs. also added sliced onions. did'nt change a thing. thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Delicious. Just like my mother makes! I followed the receipe to a 'T'. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Instead of canned pickled beets, I use fresh. I peel, slice and boil them until tender (maybe 30 or 40 minutes), then proceed with the recipe. They turn out just fine. This is a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These eggs are delicious! I made these alongside traditional pickled eggs (made with white vinegar, onion, pickling spice) to compare. It was difficult for me to decide, I lean a little more towards traditional. However, everyone I made these for went crazy for the Pennsylvania version. Especially because I quartered them and made a floral-inspired display which was beautiful because of the colored layers of the pickled egg mixed with the fading pinks and reds in the onion triangles. The only problem I have with the recipe is that it's a little awkward, the juice you need is about 1 and 1/4 cans, and I only used one can's worth of beets..that's just me, I felt like 2 full cans of beets would just end up as leftovers. The first time I made these I didn't have a jar and just used a bowl. I'm not guaranteeing for everyone's dishware, but for me it was just enough to cover the eggs although it was pretty wide. These are delicious, easy to make, inexpensive, and visually tasty. I definitely recommend putting in the effort to make these. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I already gave it to my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My ex-mother in law used to make these eggs and I loved them. I have looked for a recipe for years so that I could make them myself. I add a couple sticks of cinnamon to the juice while cooking and slices of onion to the jar with the eggs and beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My husband loved these. Need I say anything more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States