Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent. We added sliced onions to it. Left in fridge for a week and turned out great. Made 60 eggs and took them to a Club we are members to. Everybody love them, so much they are asking for the recipe. Really good. Even the onions dont have onion taste, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Great! I let mine sit for four days. The eggs were so pretty when sliced! And they tasted just like Grandma's! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Excellent. Just like my Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pickering Ford Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
We've tried a lot of pickled egg recipes and this is by far the best. Even my daughter ate them - and she hates pickled anything! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmoelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Perfect. Just like I remembered. A big hit with the hubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These remind me of my childhood :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FTBLOSU

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
great pickeled eggs. also added sliced onions. did'nt change a thing. thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Delicious. Just like my mother makes! I followed the receipe to a 'T'. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Instead of canned pickled beets, I use fresh. I peel, slice and boil them until tender (maybe 30 or 40 minutes), then proceed with the recipe. They turn out just fine. This is a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These eggs are delicious! I made these alongside traditional pickled eggs (made with white vinegar, onion, pickling spice) to compare. It was difficult for me to decide, I lean a little more towards traditional. However, everyone I made these for went crazy for the Pennsylvania version. Especially because I quartered them and made a floral-inspired display which was beautiful because of the colored layers of the pickled egg mixed with the fading pinks and reds in the onion triangles. The only problem I have with the recipe is that it's a little awkward, the juice you need is about 1 and 1/4 cans, and I only used one can's worth of beets..that's just me, I felt like 2 full cans of beets would just end up as leftovers. The first time I made these I didn't have a jar and just used a bowl. I'm not guaranteeing for everyone's dishware, but for me it was just enough to cover the eggs although it was pretty wide. These are delicious, easy to make, inexpensive, and visually tasty. I definitely recommend putting in the effort to make these. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I already gave it to my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States