Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The best we've ever had! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Although I didn't use bay leaves, a lot less sugar and only a 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves, this is almost identical to my late Mother's recipe! I usually double the recipe, my son and I just can't seem to get enough of these when I make them...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Perfect! Just like I had growing up. Thanks for the recipe Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were to sweet for me. They taste sort of like hardboiled eggs do in a salad with vinegar and oil dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very sweet. Not sure how sweet or sour pickled eggs are supposed to be because this was the first time I had them. I love the way they look though. For personal taste I will add way less sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I love these soo much, my mom taught me how to make these-we usually don't add the pickling spices, but I can imagine that it would make them better than our recipe!!!! Makes my mouth water thinking about these lovelies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
GREAT recipe Cindy!! And for all of you who like these a little on the hot side, we add hot pickled cauliflower to the jars also...everyone loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This recipe is PERFECT!!!!! Thank you for sharing. My family and friends couldn't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlieTheCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I don't eat pickled eggs but my husband does. His family is from PA and this is the way they make it over there. He liked them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These always disappear in minutes (okay, days). I use fresh beets - boiled, peeled, and sliced - and they come out nice and pickled with the eggs. The recipe is a bit clove-y for us, so I omit the cloves or just throw in a few, and slice the onion (rather than chop it) so that it's easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States