Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was excited when I found this recipe. My great grandmother had a wonderful recipe for Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Eggs and I was really hoping this was it. Unfortunately, I think it lacked the vinegar(y) flavor hers had. I did marinate them for over 60 hours, too. The whites were still showing inside! Guess I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
made exactly as per recipe. Too sweet and no other flavor, really..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. A little sweet, but an extra 1/2 cup of vinegar took care of that. Home-canned beets are best to use, but store-bought works fine. I prefer the onions in thick sliced rings, because I love pickled onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suky
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This recipe is perfect. My Mother always made them when she was alive, & I never bothered to get the recipe. When I saw this one I knew it had to be close. I used fresh beets, no onion or bay leaves, but used cloves; both whole & ground. I can remember her pickled eggs having cloves. I just made it a while ago and they turned out perfect. I finally found Mom's recipe! My Dad is still alive (88 years of age) and he agrees. Love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These are fabulous! I cut the sugar in half, I think the full amount would be way to sweet, but otherwise it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I love these pickled eggs- they have the perfect flavor in my opinion. I did not have an onion so I used 2 cloves of finely minced garlic instead, and I used ground clove in place of whole cloves and they still came out wonderful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I found this wonderful recipe while looking for something to do with my beets from the farmer's market. Love it however I cut the sugar to 1 tbsp. and added 2 tbsp. organic honey. Also, boiled my own beets instead of using canned. Love it and forwarded it to my sister who is a chef. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Super easy to make and so delicious! I was surprised by the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zerogrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I'm a fan of most everything pickled, eggs included. I tried my hand at couple of other recipes with less than stellar results. I recently began working a construction project in Hanover, PA, and noticed they had red eggs in the deli section of my local grocery. I bought them and I was happily overwhelmed by the combination of beets and eggs. I sought out a recipe, and this one popped up. It is perfect in every respect. The sweet and sour aspects, along with the spices will make you very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterblutarsky
Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Good recipe but not Pennsylvania dutch/amish at all.My family are pennsylvania dutch and they never use onion in the picked beet eggs.My recipe handed down 6 generations now is very simile except no onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States