Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Beets and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These are fabulous! I cut the sugar in half, I think the full amount would be way to sweet, but otherwise it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I love these pickled eggs- they have the perfect flavor in my opinion. I did not have an onion so I used 2 cloves of finely minced garlic instead, and I used ground clove in place of whole cloves and they still came out wonderful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I found this wonderful recipe while looking for something to do with my beets from the farmer's market. Love it however I cut the sugar to 1 tbsp. and added 2 tbsp. organic honey. Also, boiled my own beets instead of using canned. Love it and forwarded it to my sister who is a chef. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Super easy to make and so delicious! I was surprised by the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zerogrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I'm a fan of most everything pickled, eggs included. I tried my hand at couple of other recipes with less than stellar results. I recently began working a construction project in Hanover, PA, and noticed they had red eggs in the deli section of my local grocery. I bought them and I was happily overwhelmed by the combination of beets and eggs. I sought out a recipe, and this one popped up. It is perfect in every respect. The sweet and sour aspects, along with the spices will make you very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterblutarsky
Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Good recipe but not Pennsylvania dutch/amish at all.My family are pennsylvania dutch and they never use onion in the picked beet eggs.My recipe handed down 6 generations now is very simile except no onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These were just like my mum used to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was very good. They had a different taste than I'm used to. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
We always had this at Easter when I was a child since we had so many hard boiled eggs left over from the Easter Bunny. My mother used to go one step further, with the leftover beets and pickled eggs - she made 'Beet Salad' - similar to making potato salad, but use beets in place of potatoes. Dice the beets, dice the eggs, chop some celery and onion (if you like both or either) and mix with mayonaisse. The color is amazing as the mayo takes on a beautiful pink color - and the taste is something you'll love forever. Its too bad people have this fear or hatred towards beets - they are the best thing out there! Try the beet salad, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made exactly per recipe and it was perfect! Reminded me of when I would sneak them out of the refrigerator as a child- always loved these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States