Pennsylvania Dutch Funny Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Ok I have the same recipe but we do it differently, we put the chocolate in the bottom first then pour the batter on top. We also do this in a 12 inch pie plate as it is enough to fill. I also have done it in a 9 inch tall sided pie plate. Though the 9" has to be cooked for almost an hour versus 30 minutes for the 12 inch. You have to check the center before taking it out and just let it finish. I have never had a flopped one yet. It is enough for two pies but not three if you want decent size funny cakes. Just a note, the chocolate taste better if you use Hershey's cocoa even though I have used others this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Had the same exact problem as another reviewer. The chocolate did not sink down to the bottom like it's supposed to and there was definately not enough batter to fill 3 9" pie plates. 2 of mine turned out really shallow! However, these were tasty, but looked very strange! I think I'll keep searching for a better funny cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly and after the baking time was done, the inside was liquidy. I also found that the flour-based layer will seep out if not sealed by the chocolate. I've had funny cake before and was so disappointed that this recipe didn't work even after 4 failed attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Even though I carefully followed the recipe to the letter, my cakes turned out dense, dry, and not very flavorful. The chocolate layer doesn't sink to the bottom as claimed, it remains as a thin layer at the top and drips down along sides of the crust. Not sure what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I made this for my 3rd grader's art class and it was a big hit, all the teachers wanted this recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Loved this growing up in PA and glad to find the recipe again. Made these out here in Washington State for my church's semi-annual bake sale - now have requests to make them each time. Chocolate layer is sooo good and the cake part has a lovely vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This recipe, with minor differences, has been a family favorite for generations. We couldn't keep it in the house once it was made. It is still one of my favorite recipes to make and consume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
Absolutely delicious!! Kids eat this one up and fight over the last piece! best of both worlds, vanilla cake with a rich chocolate bottom in a flaky pie crust. Be sure to put in batter first and pour chocolate on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States