Pennsylvania Dutch Corn Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
My Mother was Pa Dutch and made allot of Dutch foods. I loved these and still do. This one is so good,never thought I could make one myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Boyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Husband and 8 year old both said it was delicious! I grew up eating this and always loved it. I only had to bake it for 30 minutes. The corn was a little too cooked at that point, but the potatoes were done perfectly. Crust browned nicely. Will definitely make again, especially on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
i added a c. of cheddar and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is almost exactly how my Pennsylvania Dutch grandmother made corn pie - she didn't use a bottom crust, didn't use creamed corn, and mixed some crumbled saltine crackers in with the filling. Otherwise, it's right on the nose and I love it! To me it's not bland - true flavors of corn, potatoes and eggs come through. Hearty, filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It was very bland tasting, though easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good recipie :D I used some home grown super swet corn and crumbled in 2 slices of applewood smoked bacon ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
While this is not bland, it is not full of flavor either. Although I like hard boiled eggs, their flavor did not blend with the rest of the ingredients. This might be a once-a-year dish, definitely not a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
When I came across this recipe, I just had to make it. I am Pa. Dutch and my Nana used to make this. This is excellent! She used to put chopped parsley in it. I tried it with the chicken too, so good. For the chicken I had to add a little more milk.The sweetness of the corn with the crust, just goes together so well. You have to try this with fresh sweet corn, also really good.Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is very good. I used fresh corn since it was in season. You need about 6-8 ears of corn cut off cob. Take about 1/3 of the corn and put in blender to make cream corn. Also added a pinch of parsley to add a little color. You can also heat a little milk to put over each serving after it is done if you like more juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Something different for our family. This was a good and unusual way to eat your vegetables. We liked it, but thought it lacked celery and onions. Need to go heavy handed when adding the pepper. It baked up nicely and served well without falling apart. Most definitely best when eaten the first time as the crust is not as good the next day. Thanks Imlizard for sharing a Pennsylvania treat. My husband has family there and that is why I chose your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States